RSS Feed

Cold and Flu Season has hit us hard

I asked my husband today if it was bad to hope that Evan, our 3 year old, has the flu, so we at least know what he has and have a way to treat him. He’s gone from sinus infection, to possible site infection from his pneuomia shot, to running a 102 fever while on antibiotics. Obviously it’s not a bacterial infection if he is getting sick on antibiotics. Colin got sick Friday, one day after getting his flu shot. He was complaining about headache and eye pain. The flu test came back negative and he’s done pretty well with his antibiotic treatment for a sinus infection. We did take him to the ER on Saturday night after his headache and eye pain would not go away after a dose of Tylenol and Motrin. Yesterday he had a good day without fever and is back in school today. Evan on the other hand is going back to the pediatrician today because of a fever, stuffy nose and dry cough.

I do have cards to share with you. I spent World Cardmaking Day stamping. I just am having a hard time getting my photos taken and uploaded because of spending time with sick kids. I’m sure that those of you with kids understand that.

I made this card with the sketch from Card Patterns, it’s #35. I love Tasty Sweet and while it’s not in the catalog it is on the Dormant list. I started with a Perfect Plum Base and layered on Cast-a-Spell designer series paper that I added a paper piercing border. I then added the 1 3/4″ Cast-a-Spell circle punched with the 1 3/4″ circle punch.  The main image layer is Pumpkin Pie and Whisper White.  My Candy corn was inked in Barely Banana, Summer Sun and Pumpkin Pie, stamped on Whisper White and cut out and attached with dimensionals.  I used Basic Black, Pumkin Pie, Perfect Plum and Old Olive to ink the sentiment and used the Stamp-a-ma-jig to line it up.  I added more paper piercing and punched the corners with the 3/16″ corner rounder.  The Cast-a-Spell strip was cut by using a bendy ruler found at an office supply store. I simply placed it on my paper and cut around it with a hobby blade. I then added a Chocolate Chip brad and Pumpkin Pie striped ribbon before attaching it the card base with dimensionals.

My goal for this week is to have all of us healthy at home and hopefully update my blog more often.  When dealing with a sick family the latter is not always the easiest. 

ETA: Evan did test positive for Influenza A and they said that 99% of these cases are the H1N1 strain so he’s being treated for that.  Boy is Tamiflu hard to find, it’s on manufacturer backorder and took me over an hour to find a pharmacy that has it.

All products are Stampin’ Up! and can be purchased via my Demonstrator Website: http://igotstamps.stampinup.net

7 responses »

  1. Fun card! I like what you did with the DSP!

    Reply
  2. Love the card Jenn! My little guy was home sick today (on day 2 of 100.5 or so fever with one bout of throwing up, which he’s hardly ever done). Apparently schools around here are 25%-35% out with the H1N1 flu. We’re laying low because of that, and due to our 8″ of snow and power outage for 7 hours and 20 minutes today! I did manage to stamp one teensy little thing, but mostly it was all about TLC.

    Reply
  3. Just sending well wishes for all of you! Sickness is rough on us mommies, not matter who is sick! I’m one sort of wishing to get it and get it over with. H1N1 is in the community, but not bad yet. We got the regular flu shot today.

    Love the card! You almost made me get that set last year with all the cute things you did with it!

    Reply
  4. Great card! That’s why my hubby kids and myself don’t get the flu shot. I have never had and won’t. My kids will never get it and my hubby refuses. My mom got hers the year before last and she got the flu right away and was sick all winter.
    I hope your family will get better. We live in GA and it has had the most cases of the swine flu and we are fine. I have MS and had a bad flare took some steroids to get better and then came down with a fever and achy body. They did not test me for the flu but gave the z pack and was feeling better within a few days. My friend is a nurse and she said that all flu related illness are treated like h1n1 and given tamaflu. I think the media just likes to scare the public! I will pray for your boys.

    Reply
  5. Oh this is just adorable Jenn! I love that big candy corn- so fun. So glad that you could play along with us this week on CP. Your cards are always such a treat. I hope your sons get better soon!

    Reply
  6. What a beautiful card!! Love the candy 🙂 I also hope your sons will get better soon.

    Reply
  7. Hope by now your son is better – its always such a worry! 😦

    Your card is so cute – love the saying and image. Thanks for playing along with Card Patterns – it really is so much fun to be the sponsor again! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

