RSS Feed

Finished Diaper Cake

This week I was going to take Evan and drive the baby shower present to my parents house. The upcoming weather changed that and I ended up driving it there yesterday. I was going to wait for a sunny moment to photograph it, but instead in my rush I had to use my light box. As you can see the diaper cake is as tall as the inside of my light box, so it wasn’t as easy to photograph that way as I’d have liked. But you will get the idea of the finished project despite the photograph.

After my diapers were rolled and the cake was assembled I used a piece of ribbon to determine the length of card stock I would need for each layer. The bottom was approximately 40 inches around. I simply held the ribbon around the layer and then measured the length. I used sticky strip to hold 2″ X 11″ pieces of card stock together and then layered them with 1 1/2″ X 12″ pieces of designer series paper. The baby is a boy, so I thought the Tall Tales dsp was the perfect match.

After each layer was wrapped I added the Serif Essentials alphabet letters that I cut to say Baby. They too are covered in Tall Tales dsp and then I sponged Chocolate Chip ink on the edges and used my White gel pen to add dots. I attached the letters with dimensionals and added a few corduroy buttons in Pumpkin Pie and Baja Breeze (retired). They are tied with Linen Thread and added with Pop Up Glue dots.

This week is to bring us snow. We got a dusting that covered the sidewalks, driveways and streets, but not the grass yet. I guess the big storm of a possible 6″ will be Tuesday night into Wednesday morning. The good thing is that the temperature is bearable to be outside. Colin and Evan were very excited to see the first snowfall of the year. I’ll be back tomorrow with a new project to share.

4 responses »

  1. Oh my sweet beezus, this is positively adorable.

    Reply
  2. Jenn, this turned out really cute!

    Reply
  3. Can you tell me how many diapers are on each layer? I have a friend who just had twins, and I’d love to make these for the babies. Did you use Newborn size?

    Reply
  4. This is awesome!!! Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

