RSS Feed

I'll be home for Christmas

Yesterday the Ways to Use it Challenge involved Caroling.  You were to pick your favorite Christmas song and then use it to inspire a card.  It was easy with the Home for Christmas stamp set.  I started by turning the sketch from yesterdays card on its side.  I stamped the image in Basic Gray and watercolored it in with an AquaPainter and my watercolor pencils.  I haven’t opened them in a long time and it was fun to use them again.  I then added some Frost White Shimmer paint to the evergreen and the snow on the steps.  I matted the layer on Chocolate Chip and Real Red.  The base of the card is Garden Green that was sponged with Whisper White craft ink and stamped with the Serene Snowflakes stamp set.  I did use a few retired items on my card that I’ve had laying around.  The Alpine Originals ribbon was one of my favorites and I found a stash of Felt Flurries that I had forgotten about.  I tried to heat emboss on the felt ribbon and I wouldn’t advise you to try the same.  It does not work as well as on grosgrain ribbon and I actually started to melt some of the fibers.  It was worth the attempt.  When I first poured on the white embossing powder the words were really clear and crisp looking.  When I heated them they melted the felt fibers a bit and then they smeared together. 

Today Roger is working a half day as when he took a shower this morning he only had warm water.  He went down to look at the water heater and can’t get the pilot light to stay on.  He thinks a part went bad and he’s going to replace it after lunch.  After this weekend I am FREE!  From the beginning of October through this weekend I’ve been at Craft and Vendor Fairs.  This weekend marks my very last one and I am ready to be done.  I can’t wait to have a weekend at home to relax.  It’s been a long time since we’ve been able to do that.  I’m hoping it will also allow me to be more creative instead of feeling like I have to create to fill my table back up.  Although I still have to make items for my Silent Auction basket, but they are normally one of a kind originals. 

I hope you all have a fantastic weekend.  I’m going to make a separate post with the 12 Days of Holiday sales from Stampin’ Up!  There are new vinyl sheets in many new Stampin’ Up! colors as well as discounted Big Shot dies!  Make sure to check it out.

Leave a Reply

