RSS Feed

Loves Me, Loves You

Yesterday we had a pretty laid back day. We started by going to church and I usually make Colin and Evan a deal that if they are quiet and well behaved that they can stop and pick up a donut on the way home. Yesterday we lucked out because there was coffee and donuts after church in the school cafeteria. Colin got to hang out with a few friends and Evan stuck by my side.  On the way home we ran to the grocery store to pick up a few things.  Then Roger and Colin got started on his Pinewood Derby car since it’s coming up in about two weeks time.  While they were doing that, Evan was playing his DS and I got time to finish up Christmas Thank You cards and stamp. 

I made this card based on the inspiration card at the Cards Magazine Blog.  I decided to stick with the colors and a bit of the Polka Dots.  There have been a lot of fluffy flowers going around lately so i used the Sizzix Flower Layers Bigz die and my Stampin’ Up! Big Shot to cut out the flowers from Merry Moments dsp.  I sponged the edges in Chocolate Chip ink, but a brad through the center and then scrunched up my flowers until I was happy with the shape.  I added a Latte button threaded with hemp twine to the center and then attached it to my card base.  I then added Little Leaves from the Sizzlets die using Old Olive textured card stock. I love the new Well Scripted set from Stampin’ Up!.  I chose to buy the clear mount version and it is so easy to stamp on the punched out sentiment tag without a stamp-a-ma-jig, and I’m a big fan of the stamp-a-ma-jig. 

The base of my card is fairly simple.  I used Kraft cardstock for the base and layered Real Red with Bermuda Bay textured card stock.  The Bermuda Bay layer is stamped with the Trendy Trees stamp set in Soft Suede and then layered with a piece of Whisper White that was punched with the Eyelet border punch and then I added a piece of Real Red 3/4″ Polka Dot ribbon across the bottom of it. Two vintage brads round off the design of my card. 

This morning I am reading to Evan’s class.  He says he doesn’t like me to do it, but he sure loves sitting in the big rocking chair next to me when I do.  I hope you all have a great creative start to your week.

Jenn

8 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness, I love the richness of the colors; still playful.

    Reply
  2. That is completely beautiful! I love the flower!

    Reply
  3. Wow Jenn! I love everything about it!

    Reply
  4. Hey Jenn, weigh in day today. I am down 3.6. Yeah! I am telling you here because I cannot find your email address. I am sure it is right in front of me on your blog but this will have to do this time. 🙂 Hugs, Sarah

    Reply
  5. Wowza! This is gorgeous!

    Reply
  6. Stunning Jenn! Love the color combination and the layered flowers are fabulous!!

    Reply
  7. Love this card. Just beautiful.

    Reply
  8. I really love those colors together, and I think the flower is beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

