RSS Feed

A Sad Weekend

I’ve mentioned on here before that we have 2 cats. One of them gives us problems every once in a while and has been on Valium for 4 years now. For some reason he likes to punish us by forgetting how to use his litter box and he targets beds. We’ve tried everything, from different drugs, different litter boxes, sprays to relax him, special prescription food and hundreds and hundreds of ideas and products over the last 4 years. It’s gotten to the point where I can’t have him ruining our house and beds and he’s not an outdoor cat so I don’t know what else to do. I called the No Kill shelter here in town and they can’t take him. The chances of a 10 year old cat, who likes to pee outside of his litter box being adopted before the kill shelter adopts him is fairly slim. It looks like we are going to have to put him down on Monday. The worst part of it is that he is such a gentle and loving cat, but he has behavioral issues. He will let the boys carry him around and love on him and doesn’t get upset at anything they do. It looks like this weekend we will have to prepare Colin and Evan to say goodbye to him. I don’t know what else to do. Needless to say I haven’t felt like stamping since he decided to punish us again today and I’ve had to make some difficult decisions. I do have my November 2010 and December 2010 calendar pages to share with you. The November page is in celebration of Evan’s birthday. He picked out his cake pan and the colors he wanted and ended up with quite a vibrant cake.

The December page was super simple and easy. It’s a designer template made by Stampin’ Up! and all I had to do was put my photo in place.

I hope you all have a great weekend. I hope it’s not too much of a traumatic one here.

10 responses »

  1. So sorry to hear about your difficult cat. I know that this is such a hard decision for you to make. Your family will be in my thoughts and prayers this weekend!

    Reply
  2. Love your scrapbook pages! I am so sorry to hear about your cat – what an awful decision for you. I’ve had a small taste of what you’re going through with one of my cats a couple years ago, so my heart goes out to you. Hope you are able to hang on to the great memories you have, and know that you are doing what is best for all of you. [hugs]

    Reply
  3. I really enjoy your stamping blog. Thank you for the time you put into it. I had to make the same decision a few years back with one of our cats. It was hard to do but it was too much for me to take with two very young kids and a ruined house. The last few months I kept her in one bedroom with a plastic cover on the bed but had to wash the sheet on it everytime she used it for her bathroom. I am still sad over it. Our vet understood and that helped. My prayers are with you and your family.

    Reply
  4. Hugs to you and your family. It’s a difficult decision, but it sounds like the right one for your family. Putting a pet down is never easy… I’ve been there three times now. My heart goes out to you.

    Reply
  5. Jenn, so sorry to hear about kitty. I so feel your pain. 5 years ago we had to tell our boys to say goodbye to their dog who after a year was diagnosed as mentally retarded. There is no way to really make it easy but I will say once on the other side, things are so much better. Blessings to you my friend, you’re doing the right thing!

    Hugs, Becky

    Reply
  6. Sorry to hear about your kitty cat, Jenn. That’s a seriously tough call, I feel for ya. Hope the boys are okay. They are looking super cute in your darling layouts!

    Reply
  7. Jenn,
    I’m sorry that you’ve had such a tough decision to make. We are going through the same thing. Our 8 year old female cat periodically chooses not to use the litter box. Fortunately she doesn’t target beds, but she likes the mats on the floor of each children’s room. We had not taken her to the vet about this because we are afraid of the cost. It makes me so sad, because she is so gentle and loving. My two toddlers don’t scare her and she loves to let them pet her. It’s rare to find a cat who will be so good around young children, yet we know that we cannot let her ruin the house. It’s exhausting to have someone else to clean up after around here. Lately she has started using the carpet in the TV room. I want to keep her because of the kids, and I feel guilty thinking about putting her down because of this issue. What she needs is a loving home where she can get a lot of attention all the time, but that’s not possible here yet. I hope you have good memories of your cat to hold on to.

    Reply
  8. Hi Jenn,

    I am very sorry to hear about your cat. A very long time ago my cat did similar things- not the bed though and the vet told me to put food or a litter box wherever she went pee. The idea was that a cat will not pee where they eat, or putting an extra litter box out is someimes what they want. Luckily It did work and she stopped doing it exept for the occassional bath matt which I could easily replace if needed. When I moved into a differnt house with only hardwood floors- she stopped completely. Obviously, peeing on beds is different and very expensive. I had to put my cat down a little over a year ago. She was almost 18 and was very sick. It was the hardest thing I think I have ever had to do and I feel for you and your tough decision. It sound like you have done everything you can to help your cat. Hold on to that and the good memories.

    Reply
  9. What sweet pictures!
    Sorry to hear about your cat, I know it was a hard decision to make. Hugs!

    Reply
  10. Jenn, I am so sorry to hear about your cat. It is such a difficult decision to make but understand why you have to. Don’t think that you’re a bad person or pet owner because you are putting him down. You have done everything that you can possibly do and sometimes these unfortunate things just happen. Hugs and God bless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

