RSS Feed

Mambo Bird-Day

Can you believe that yesterday I got to stamp not one but two cards? I was excited about that because it meant that I didn’t have to rush home to get something stamped after my Dr. appointment. Again I combined 2 challenges. I used Mercy’s Sketch challenge and the ColorQ challenge.   The colors were Melon Mambo, Bravo Burgundy, Pretty in Pink, Pumpkin Pie and Whisper White.  Now that was a challenge because Bravo Burgundy is a color I almost never use and to pair it with Pumpkin Pie gave me a few concerns.  However I was able to come up with a card that I love using a few new goodies I received late last week.  The base of the card is Melon Mambo and is layered with Whisper White and a Pumpkin Pie piece of dsp from the Sweet Pea pad.  My main image layer is Bravo Burgundy and Whisper White.  I then added the Melon Mambo bird with a Pretty in Pink wing.  I painted on the eye with Frost White Shimmer Paint and added the branch out of Chocolate Chip and Old Olive.  The sentiment from Well Scripted is stamped in Bravo Burgundy.  I finished the card off with a Bravo Burgundy grosgrain ribbon and some Sweet Pea Felt embellishments.

Stamps: Well Scripted
Paper: Melon Mambo, Whisper White, Sweet Pea dsp, Bravo Burgundy, Pretty in Pink, Chocolate Chip, Old Olive
Ink: Bravo Burgundy
Accessories: Bird on a Branch punch, scallop trim border punch, Bravo Burgundy grosgrain, sweet pea stitched felt, glue dots, dimensionals

Today is also weigh in day and I’m happy to say I’ve been continuing on a good path.  This week I lost 1.8 lbs for a total of 8.2.  That puts me only 2 lbs away from my 1st weight loss goal.  Of course I have more to set.  This past week I decided to start a new fitness program.  I can’t stick to one for long, but I started the Couch to 5K for the next 10 weeks.  Yesterday I did a 5 minute warm up on the treadmill.  My average walking speed is 3.7 mph and would then jog for 2 minutes at 4.3 mph and walk for 1 1/2 at 3.7 mph.  I’ll do that 3 times this week, with a day in between each treadmill session.  Next week I’ll jog for 2 1/2 minutes and walk for 1 1/2 minutes, each week adding another 30 seconds to my jogging time.  I am by no means a runner.  In fact I’ve always hated it, but when I’m done with my time on the treadmill I feel fantastic.  I normally put in 30 minutes each session.  On days I don’t use the treadmill I’ve been doing 15 minutes of cardio and 15 minutes of strength training.

I hope all of you out there that are looking at making 2010 the year for you and your weight loss are doing great too.  I really love to hear how you are all doing as it helps keep me motivated to keep plugging along in my journey.

9 responses »

  1. Absolutely LOVE it!

    Reply
  2. Wow, those sound like tough colors….way to rock it out though. Awesome card, loving all of the elements together.

    Reply
  3. Because of you I really want to get that sentiment set AND because of you I really want to keep up the weight loss/working out/eating better. I feel you on the running. I hate it too…but I’m determined to be better at it. I wish I had a treadmill. The other day was decent enough to run outside at the park. But it gets super muddy when it thaws. Today my WO buddy told me that my boobs were getting smaller!!! HOORAY! I don’t care if I lost all 6 pounds up there. Take care and keep it up wonder woman!

    Reply
  4. What a cute card! I love the colors, the dsp and the border punch. Thanks for sharing! And congrats on the weight loss!

    Reply
  5. jenn…this is just fantastic! great colors, diecuts, and felt flowers!

    thanks for playing along with my sketch for this week…you’ve done a great job! 🙂

    {{{hugs}}}
    mercy

    Reply
  6. LOVE THIS! I got this punch and lost the mojo! but you are an inspiration! thanks. Congrats on weight loss…I lost 15# last fall and have kept it off…but it’s a daily thing…keep at it, it is worth it! es

    Reply
  7. Gorgeous card. The felt bird and embellishments are so sweet. Well done on the weight loss! Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    Reply
  8. Wowza! This is a beauty!

    Reply
  9. What a sweet card – you did a fab job with the colors! Thanks so much for playing the colourQ this week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

