RSS Feed

Wonderful Matryoshka

Growing up I remember playing with Russian stacking dolls all of the time.  It was always so much fun opening them all up and discovering what was inside of them.  Each doll was usually decorated in the same fashion with the tiny details getting smaller and smaller on each doll until you got to the last one which was always too tiny to open up and hold anything inside.  I think my parents still have a set of dolls in their house, although it’s been years since I’ve played with it. 

Stampin’ Up! recently opened up a forum for their demonstrators and there have been a few challenges that started, one of them being a Featured Stamper challenge.  I chose a card by Wendy Weixler to case.  I chose to stick with the layout and kept the ribbon placement, but I changed the colors to work with the color challenge on SCS, changed the stamp sets and added paper piercing.  The colors are Melon Mambo, Pretty in Pink and Blush Blossom.  I don’t think I’d have ever put this combination together myself, but I’m glad I forced myself to use it because I love the results.  The main image panel uses two Occasions Mini sets My Matryoshka and Well Scripted.  It’s hard to tell in the photo but the Blush Blossom layer is stamped with the Vintage Labels Sale-a-Bration stamp set in Blush Blossom ink.  I used my AquaPainter and many inks to watercolor in my image.  I’ve listed them all in the supplies.

Stamps: My Matryoshka, Vintage Labels, Well Scripted
Paper: Melon Mambo, Pretty in Pink, Blush Blossom, Whisper White
Ink: Basic Gray, Blush Blossom, Pretty in Pink, Old Olive, Always Artichoke, Sahara Sand, Soft Suede, Melon Mambo
Accessories: AquaPainter, Mat pack, dimensionals, Pretty in Pink Taffeta Ribbon
Techniques: Watercoloring

Today is weigh in day.  I am happy to report that I lost my first 10 lbs, in fact this week I lost 3.6 for a total of 11.8 lbs and even lost 5% of my body weight.  I’m not aiming to lose 10% and I’m less than 10 lbs away from that goal.  I’ve been eating my daily points but this week I barely touched my extra weekly points.  I was surprised to have done so well since I sort of slacked off this weekend and didn’t really track as consistently as I had been.  I even ate out at Friday’s and had pie with my dinner when we were celebrating birthdays.  I think I’m just making healthier choices when I eat and I’m never starving.  I’m opting to fill up on fresh fruits and veggies before I snack on anything else.  I don’t feel deprived and I don’t feel like I’m on a diet.  When I get hungry in the afternoon I’ve been reaching for a cup of coffee instead of a snack because it’s been so cold here I need something to warm me up and I find myself satisfied after I have it.  If I have a snack I measure it out into a bowl before I eat it.  I’m able to wear two pairs of jeans that I haven’t worn since before Colin was born and I’m throwing out my big baggy ones so that I don’t get too comfortable in them.  I do think the biggest thing that is helping me along is the accountablity, and ever since I posted here on my blog I have a lot of you e-mailing or posting a comment asking how I am doing and I love that support so thank you for it!  I hope the rest of you on similar journeys are doing well too.

6 responses »

  1. Fabulous job on the weight loss Jenn!! I’m so excited for you. I can’t wait to begin my own journey – right now I’m on some meds that are not helping me and in fact have made me gain a little weight (probably water). That’s the first weight I’ve gained in months. I’ve done well at just staying the same, but hopefully will be able to see some results from working out and watching my diet in the form of weight LOSS instead of staying the same or gaining! Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

    Reply
  2. You did it! The first 10 lbs…doesnt that feel like such a major accomplishment?~?~ WOW. Yup. You make me feel accountable for my eating decisions. I’m layin’ it all out there. I even did two workouts today because I ate a few pieces of chocolate. I have lost 5.5% of my body weight but I’m third in the competition I’m in…one lady lost like fifteen lbs in the first three weeks. That’s insane isn’t it. I don’t know how she did it cuz I’m being almost perfect over here. Oh well, it’s not about being first I guess, it’s about lovin’ me and what I can do, right!??! Okay, have another great week. I’m right behind you!

    Reply
  3. Oh yeah, I’m totally getting this set. You colored it so nicely. Do you have it in wood or not?

    Reply
  4. Woo Hoo, congratulations on reaching your first goal, its exciting and so worth all the hard work that goes into it – so a very well done! I will check back in next week – have a good week!

    Reply
  5. Your coloring is stunning! You captured the details of this set just perfectly!

    Reply
  6. Love the colors….who would have thought? And a BIG CONGRATS on your progress on the weight loss.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

