RSS Feed

Happy Birthday Moments Part I

Colin ended up staying home on Friday, so that meant we didn’t have to go anywhere at all. I decided I’d sit down and finish my birthday card order since all of my class prep work was finished. To make it easy on myself I decided to challenge myself to use the same supplies, same stamp set and same sketch for a set of cards. To push myself even farther I wanted to use all of the main images in a set. I chose to work with Happy Moments, which is a Sale-a-Bration stamp set. I got this set as a clear mount set.

I chose to work with the Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge and I used number 54.  The cards all have a craft base and a strip of designer series paper from the Sweet Pea pack.  I used the Scallop border punch and then sponged the edges with Chocolate Chip ink before attaching it to the card front.  I then used Old Olive textured card stock and layered it with a Whisper White oval that I cut out with my coluzzle.  I’m still sad that the coluzzle retired.  I stamped my images and then watercolored them in with an AquaPainter.  I then attached it to the Old Olive card stock with dimensionals, tied on a Pretty in Pink Taffeta ribbon and then attached it to the card with more dimensionals.  The hearts from the Trio Flower punch and Heart to Heart punch round out the card.  I placed a silver brad in the center of the flower and then attached the embellishments with dimensionals.

The only image I didn’t watercolor was the bird cage image. I simply colored the cage with the Chocolate Chip marker and the bird with Taken with Teal before stamping it on the card stock.  The sentiments were all stamped in Taken with Teal.

In total I made 4 cards just like this but with different images.  I’ll post the next two cards tomorrow. 

As I mentioned Colin was home with strep throat all last week.  On Saturday I was getting Evan dressed and his entire abdomen was covered with a bright scarlet rash.  He got a strep rash and luckily was able to get an appointment on Saturday morning.  He’s now on antibiotics for strep throat.  Although he didn’t get the fever or red throat yet.  I guess he handles the toxins differently than Colin does.  Hopefully this is our last cold of the season.  This week the boys are both getting their second H1N1 shots and I don’t want to see the pediatrician until their next well care visit.  While I love our Dr., we’ve seen enough of him this cold and flu season.

We’re gearing up for 6 – 12 inches of snow tonight.  Cross your fingers for me that it all passes us over.  I’m so ready for spring to be here.  Yesterday coming home from church I noticed the trees looking fatter, like they are starting to gear up to bud.  It also felt warmer even though it was only 27 degrees out.  The sun is getting higher in the sky!  I hope that if we do get that much snow that we’re all off tomorrow and that we don’t have to go anywhere.

2 responses »

  1. Love these!! Great design here!

    Reply
  2. These are so pretty Jenn, such lovely colors.
    Hope your boys feel better soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

