RSS Feed

Defining Birthday

I think by now you know I love sketches. I made this card based on Mercy’s sketch #61.  I started with a Kraft card stock base and attached three 1 3/8″ punched squares of Thoroughly Modern designer series paper.  I then paper pierced around the outside edge of these squares.  I then stamped the sentiment from Upsy Daisy at the bottom of the card in Soft Suede ink.  The main image layer was cut out with my retired coluzzle.  I can’t get rid of my oval cutting templates until I finish buying all of the oval dies for the Big Shot.  I started by stamping the Season of Friendship tree in Soft Suede ink.  I then sponged Bashful Blue ink, using a scallop circle as a mask to make the cloud layer.  I then added some Mellow Moss for grass.  When I was done with that I used the Small Heart punch to punch Pretty in Pink card stock.  I sponged the edges with Rose Red ink and a sponge dauber and then laid the hearts out on my grid paper.  I inked the happy sentiment stamp from Define Your Life in Pretty in Pink and then stamped over the top of the hearts to give them a bit more texture and dimension.  They are attached with dimensionals.  I then added a piece of Silver HodgePodge Hardware and a piece of Soft Suede polka dot ribbon to finish off the card before attaching it to the base with dimensionals.  I love how this card turned out!

Today was weigh in day for me.  I had a break even week.  I didn’t gain anything and I didn’t lose anything.  I’m still at a total of 14.2 lbs lost.  I’m happy with that because we ate out a ton this weekend.  I don’t normally cook with salt and when we eat out I can tell how much sodium I’ve taken in because my wedding ring doesn’t slide as easily over my finger.  Normally it’s loose, but when we eat out it fits my finger tighter than I’d like.  I’m hoping next week is a better week.  Too bad my weigh in day isn’t tomorrow since I’m fasting for Ash Wednesday today.  But I’m making some wonderful sounding Potato-Lentil stew for dinner.  But enough about that since it’s only 9 am and I don’t plan on eating until after church tonight. 

I now have 4 birthday cards in my stash!  I have more to make to get ready for March so I’m sure you’ll see more in the next few days.  Then I need to move on to anniversary cards.

Stamps: Season of Friendship, Upsy Daisy, Define Your Life
Paper: Kraft, Thoroughly Modern dsp, Whisper White, Pretty in Pink
Ink: Soft Suede, Rose Red, Pretty in Pink, Bashful Blue, Mellow Moss
Accessories: Small heart punch, coluzzle, 1 3/8″ square punch, scallop circle punch, sponge, sponge dauber, silver HPH, Soft Suede polka dot ribbon, dimensionals, mat pack
Techniques: masking
2 responses »

  1. Love this, Jenn! Great colors and sketch!

    Reply
  2. Love this card! The colors are great!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

