RSS Feed

Gratitude Blooms

One thing I was taught as a kid was to write Thank You notes for presents and for times when people do something nice for you. I’ve been trying to teach Colin and Evan the same thing, so Colin and I have been working on his Thank You Notes for those who have donated money to him for Jump Rope for Heart. He’s only $20 away from his $200 goal and has until Thursday to finish. If you are interested him helping him out and donating a few dollars to the American Heart Association then you can find his Jump Rope for Heart page here.   This was a card we made for one of our neighbors.  I love these flowers, but they do not love the mail very much unless I put it in a padded envelope.  Luckily we just had to run it across the street. 

I started by making the flower.  I punched 5 scallop circles out of Very Vanilla card stock and then stamped each several times with the gratitude sentiment from Define your Life.  When they were all stamped I sponged the edges with Creamy Caramel ink.  I then scrunched them up and unfolded them to form the flower.  The center is a Real Red epoxy brad from the Occasions mini catalog.  I made leaves by punching Old Olive ink with the 1 3/8 and 1 3/4 circle punches.  I sponged them with Old Olive and Garden Green ink to give them more dimension.  The flower is set on a square of Chocolate Chip card stock that I used the mat pack on.  I also used Merry Moments designer series paper, Real Red Polka Dot ribbon (I turned it over so the dots don’t show) and a Real Red card stock base.  The sketch is Fall to Layout 79

This weekend we got one of the I-beams in our basement boxed in.  We still have the duct work to do and then we can finally start on the drop ceiling.  I’ve only been waiting 4 years for it.  It will come along slowly but surely. 

I hope you have a fantastic start to your week.  I’ll be back tomorrow with a card that Colin took to a birthday party this weekend.

9 responses »

  1. So pretty Jenn! I just sent a little $ to Colin for his venture.

    Reply
  2. Love the simplicity of this card. The flower is awesome & must give that technique a try. Great job!

    Reply
  3. What a great flower. I like how you were able to highlight the “gratitude” on it to go with yur theme.

    Reply
  4. Your card came out so great – I love this FTL sketch! My paper flowers have not come out as nice as yours!

    Reply
  5. I really like your card, the flower is beautiful

    Reply
  6. Oh wow, this is gorgeous, Jenn!!

    Reply
  7. I love the paper combo you chose. This turned out SO CUTE!

    Reply
  8. Love that cute little flower with the heart brad center!! Great job with the sketch!

    ♥♥♥Lea

    Reply
  9. LOVE this!! Awesome flower!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

