RSS Feed

Blast of a Birthday

Colin had a birthday party to go to on Saturday and I realized I didn’t have any kid themed birthday cards in my stash.  The two of us sat down and worked on this card together.  Colin gave me his ideas for the stamps and colors and I pulled it all together.  I used Fall to Layout 78.  I haven’t pulled out my Tall Tales designer series paper in a while and it has perfect colors and images for bright and cheery cards. 

I Started my card with a Brilliant Blue card stock base.  It is layered with Rose Red and then Tall Tales designer series paper.  I rounded 2 corners on the right hand side with the 3/16″ corner rounder and then attached a circle brad and a loop of Rose Red ribbon.  The layer is attached to the card base with dimensionals.  For the main image layer I punched out a 1 3/4″ circle from Watercolor paper and stamped my image in Basic Gray ink.  I used an AquaPainter and re-inkers to color in the image.  After I was done I sponged around the image with Bashful Blue ink.  The rocket is from Pun Fun and the sentiment is Well Scripted.  I stamped it in Brilliant Blue ink.

It’s snowing outside this morning so I hope to have a productive morning stamping.  Evan isn’t happy with me because he’s grounded from video games until Easter.  Colin is too.  They feel like they are entitled to play whenever they want and they have been fighting constantly.  While it’s a bit of an inconvenience for them they are starting to play with toys that haven’t seen much love in the last few weeks and are fighting a bit less.  In church on Sunday we had a visiting Priest and he was supporting a charity called Food for the Poor.  Colin was shocked to hear that there are kids around the world who don’t have food and even more shocked to hear that they don’t have video games everywhere.  That sobered him up a bit and all day Sunday I didn’t hear him begging to play the Wii, or the Play Station or his DS. 

Have a great day!  I’ll be back tomorrow with something new to share.

3 responses »

  1. Jenn: Great job with this card. I like the colors, the layouts and the overall feel. As for grounding the kids from video games, I couldn’t agree more. I noticed my two young girls were fighting a lot when they scheduled changed and they were watching three hours of TV in the afternoon. So, I cut them back to their previous one hour and encouraged them to find other things to do like play outside, do some art and even play with toys! I noticed a vast improvement in their behavior after that, so we have the kept the TV time down. I also keep an eye on the shows they like and keep them from watching any teenage sitcoms. Sometimes the easy way out back fires, parenting is a game of balance. Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  2. Very cute miss Jenn.. I need to drag that set out and make some cute cards like you do!!

    Reply
  3. this is really cute-i have the tall tales dsp but didnt break it out yet-like how you used it-good for you with the video game grounding-it’s a step that a lot of parents don’t take or just give in once the complaining starts

    Reply

Leave a Reply

