RSS Feed

Vintage Birthday

Posted on

I thought it only appropriate today to post a birthday card since today is my 35th birthday.  I guess I’m officially getting old, although I don’t feel it.  We celebrated yesterday by going out to Cracker Barrel for brunch after church and I got an iPod Touch as an early gift on Saturday.  Today I’m working on cleaning the house and getting it into order in hopes that spring will show up sooner if I get the spring cleaning out of the way. 

I used the Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge 58 for my card.  I started with a Pretty in Pink base and layered it with a piece of Sweet Pea Designer Series Paper that I used the Scallop Trim Punch on.  I tied on an Old Olive satin ribbon bow and then used pliers to put a Pretty in Pink epoxy brad around the center of it.  The sentiment is from the Sale-a-Bration set Vintage Labels as is the image behind the trees.  I stamped the sentiment on Whisper White in Chocolate Chip and punched it out with the small oval punch and layered it on an Old Olive large oval punch and a Pretty in Pink Modern Label punch.  I added silver brads and set the sentiment on dimensionals.  For the main image I stamped the label 3 times on Old Olive in Chocolate Chip and punched it out with the Curly Label punch.  I sponged the edged with Old Olive ink and then attached them to the card base.  I then added three trees from Trendy Trees in Pretty in Pink, Pumpkin Pie and Rose Red.  After stamping and cutting out the trees I used a sponge dauber to make them look fuller.  I really love how this card came out. 

Well I have more cleaning to do.  The kids are both home today from school because it’s Casmir Pulaski day.  I think the Chicago area schools are the only ones to celebrate this holiday.  I used to love having a 4 day weekend for my birthday, but these days it turns into more work for me with the kids home this long.  Tomorrow I have a nice Clean and Simple Thank you card to share with you.

11 responses »

  1. Love the Curly Label as the background for the trees! Awesome colors!

    Reply
  2. Happy Birthday! My daughter and daughter-in-law will both be 35 this month also! You are NOT getting OLD!!! 🙂
    Have a wonderful day and enjoy it all!

    Reply
  3. Jenn,

    First off, Happy Birthday to you. Second, you card is lovely. I love how you used the curly label punch.

    Reply
  4. This is BEAUTIFUL!! I love your trees and the polka dot paper! Your ribbon and the scalloped edge are perfection! Great job!

    Reply
  5. Adorable card. Those trees really POP. And the whole state celebrates Pulaski day. My MIL way down in central Illinois who taught in a tiny farming community always liked Pulaski day ’cause it gave her a nice break during a LOOOOONG part of winter. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Great card! Happy Birthday, Jenn!

    Reply
  7. Oh my goodness, this is wonderful. The colors are so vibrant.

    Reply
  8. this is a beuatiful card and happy belated bday!!!!

    – Elizabeth

    Reply
  9. Happy Birthday, Jenn!!! This card is AMAZING!! You definitely got that birthday mojo working!!

    Reply
  10. Wow…what a card!! You’ve done it again.. Love it!!

    Reply
  11. Hope you had a wonderful Birthday!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

