RSS Feed

Luck of the Irish

I love St. Patrick’s Day! I think it’s because I grew up in a very Irish neighborhood in Chicago.  Or maybe it’s because I love Corned Beef and cabbage for dinner.  I’m trying something new this year.  I’ve always boiled my Corned Beef in a big stock pot, but this year it’s hanging out in the crock pot.  I hope it turns out well.  We are also having Irish Soda Bread and Potatoes with dinner tonight.  I can’t wait!

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day I thought I should at least make a card to celebrate the holiday.  I used today’s sketch challenge on SCS.  I don’t have any Shamrock stamps so I made one using the Heart to Heart punch to create my own.  To hide the part where the hearts and hand cut stem come together I covered it with a Latte button that was threaded with Linen Thread.

Today is also weigh in day.  I just realized with all that was going on with Evan last week that I didn’t update.  I’ve been doing this for almost 3 months (next week makes my 3 month mark) and by then I’ll be thrilled if I can make it to the 20 lb mark.  The last few weeks have been hard and I have to re-evaluate my food journal because I’ve been a bit too lax and haven’t been keeping track as well as I should be.  But today I’m at a total loss of 18.6 lbs!

Well it’s a beautiful day.  I’m off to pick up Evan from school and then play outside and enjoy it.  They are saying we may hit 70 degrees tomorrow, but on Sunday we are supposed to get 5 inches of snow.  I sure hope not.

Stamps: Define Your Life, Fundamental Phrases
Paper: Kraft, Garden Green, Whisper White, Old Olive Prints dsp
Ink: Garden Green, Old Olive, Whisper White Craft ink
Accessories: Heart to Heart Punch, Latte Button, dimensionals, mini glue dot, linen thread, circle scissors, vintage brads, Large and Scallop oval punches, sponge dauber
5 responses »

  1. Hi Jen- I love this card! and I do my corned beef in the crock pot too.. wait until the end to add the veggies, potatoes and cabbage.. but the meat comes out super soft and yummy!!

    Luck o’ the Irish to ya!

    Reply
  2. Perfect take on the sketch. This is wonderful!

    Reply
  3. I love your card today! It totally inspired me to make cards for my sisters! I CASE your clover idea! Check out my card if you have time!

    Reply
  4. You’re totally rockin’ the weight loss…SO CLOSE you are! (a little Yoda wisdom). Great good luck card too. Hang in there.

    Reply
  5. adorable! gotta love the traditional irish meal on St. Paddy’s Day:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

