RSS Feed

Super Mario Bros. Themed Birthday

This year I was determined to get Colin’s invitations done early so that I didn’t feel a time crunch as it got closer to his birthday. He’s been throwing around a few different themes, but one that he really likes is Super Mario Bros. We have the Wii and DS versions and he keeps saying he wants a Wii party. I told him I’d be happy to figure out what to do along the Super Mario lines, but we were not inviting his class over to play video games.  A few days later Michelle Fischer, a fellow Stampin’ Up! demonstrator and a repeat Artisan Award winner, posted her version of Super Mario themed birthday punched characters on Stampin’ Connection.  If you are a demonstrator you can see her version on the website, she also has a guest post here with her items.  She made Yoshi goody bags and I used the punch art to make invitations.

Colin helped me punch these out and then he left me to do the assembling.  We needed about 30 invitations between his family party and his class party.  It took most of the day after church to punch and assemble Yoshi’s.  To make him you need the following punches – 1 3/4″ circle, Wide Oval Punch, Large Oval Punch, Small Oval punch and 1/2″ circle punch.  We used Real Red, Old Olive and Whisper White.  Because we needed so many invitations I made them Postcard style.  The base is Real Red and the invitation information is printed on Whisper White using elements from My Digital Studio. 

If you are interested in hearing how I printed them at home, these are the steps I followed.  I ended up saving my file as a .jpg using the medium setting and then opened it up in Paint Shop Pro.  From there I set up my print layout so that I could fit 4 to a page and then printed them right onto the card stock.  Our home printer isn’t very good, so I normally send these things in to the Stampin’ Up! printer to be printed and then shipped to me.  However, a 6 year old is impatient when it comes to his invitations so I rushed the process a bit.  

I think they turned out extremely cute.  Colin loves them and he’s excited to get started on other items for his party including goodie bags and items to go inside.  I’m so grateful to Michelle for paving the road with these.  Today I have a meeting after I drop Evan off at school to start planning Teacher Appreciation Week activities at Colin’s school.  Then I pick up Evan, feed us lunch and then head off to speech.  If that doesn’t sound like a full day then I don’t know what is.  But tomorrow and Wednesday Evan has no school or speech so we are going to stay home, relax and catch up on stamping.  It’s going to be heavenly!

7 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh Jenn, these invitations are awesome! Colin is so lucky to have such a crafty Mom! I can’t wait to see what else you do! Very inspiring Jenn!

    Reply
  2. WOW!! These are fabulous!! They look so professional, like from a custom-print shop, only better, of course, since they’re homemade! WOW!

    Reply
  3. Too cute, Jenn…I’m sure he is LOVING them!

    Reply
  4. Awesome, awesome Jenn…my kids would like these but my husband would ♥ it! He’s the biggest little kid around! Great invitations!!

    Reply
  5. These are awesome Jenn! So cute! Will have to find out if my nephew is Mario obsessed yet or not- it will make an awesome bday card!!!! Unfortunately I am Mario challenged- wioll have to totally rly on your post!!!!
    Diane

    Reply
  6. Wow, this is so fun. One of my favorite little girls love him I will have to use this on her birthday card. Fabulous job Jen.

    Reply
  7. ESTA HERMOSISIMA, TE FELICITO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

