RSS Feed

Love Bugs – SFYTT

It’s Saturday and Jen has another Sketch for You to Try posted. I had fun playing with patterned papers for this sketch. I hope you have a chance to play along with us, and in doing so you qualify to be a future Designer of the Month.

I was sorting through my Sweet Pea designer series paper and I came across a scrap with these fun flowers. I just love the colors in them.  I knew I wanted to pull from the colors in the flowers to complete my card but I struggled with what image to use.  Then I found a set that hasn’t seen ink in a very long time.  I knew I had to use it.  I colored the image from Garden Whimsy in Taken with Teal and Pumpkin Pie and stamped it on my Whisper White layer that I cut with the Circle Scissors.  I actually decided to stay with the heart this week as one of my elements.  I used the ladybug image from Garden Whimsy and combined it with part of the Define Your Life X*O*X*O definition stamp.  The sentiment is from Love Bugs Hostess set.  I love the whimsical feel of this card.

For more inspiration check out the rest of the Sketch for You to Try team:
Jen del Muro
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
and the Designer of the Month, Angie Tieman

Today we have a local Easter Egg hunt.  We are debating taking the kids. It’s the quickest hunt ever.  It starts right on time and the kids have everything picked up within 5 minutes time.  They divide the kids by age group so bigger kids aren’t trampling younger kids.  Then I informed Roger that I have to finish up my Artisan Award entries.  I am seriously thinking about scrapping entering this year.  I’m just not feeling it this year.  In the past 2 years I’ve loved everything I’ve sent in.  This year I love what I’ve made, but I’m not overly excited about it.  I have a few days to decide what I’m going to do.  We’ll see how it plays out.

Remember that you have a chance to win a Scor-It Mini by just leaving comments on posts from March 26 – April 2nd.

All Supplies are Stampin’ Up!
Stamps: Garden Whimsy, Define Your Life, Love Bugs
Paper: Kraft, Old Olive, Sweet Pea dsp, Pretty in Pink, Whisper White
Ink: Rose Red, Taken with Teal, Pumpkin Pie
Accessories:
Chocolate Chip 1 1/4″ Striped Grosgrain Ribbon, Circle Scissors, dimensionals, Heart to Heart Punch, Curly Label Punch, sponge dauber, dimensionals

18 responses »

  1. I love your wide ribbon–such a cool addition!

    Reply
  2. Ooohhh…very fun, Jenn. And that patterned paper is just perfect for this card!

    Reply
  3. What an amazing color palette, the papers are gorgeous. And, that butterfly really stands out!

    Reply
  4. Love the colors on this! I forgot about that stamp! I will have to pull it out and use it! Thanks for the inspiration!!1

    Reply
  5. I love the wide ribbon you used on this card! Very nice.

    Reply
  6. Oh I love that big ole’ ribbon! FAB card Jen!

    Reply
  7. Hi Jenn,

    You know, you are so good at your colour combinations! I get so inspired by you. You balance the card so well and I just love how you made the butterfly pop out. Yet another great card Jenn!

    Reply
  8. Cute card! I love the colour of the butterfly and the heart with the ladybug adds such a sweet touch! Great work =)

    Reply
  9. Awesome card, Jenn! Love how you used that patterned paper and that giant butterfly stamp is perfect!!

    Reply
  10. I like how the Garden Whimsy Butterfly looks with the paper. Never would have thought of doing that myself. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply
  11. I just got my last order and these delicious Sweet Pea DS stack! This is an adorable sketch and I really like all the different elements you used! I just used some these great papers on another sketch challenge that will be up on my blog tomorrow. Praying for your Moms quick recovery and minimal pain. God bless!

    Reply
  12. Thanks Jen. I like how you used the designer paper on the background. Have a great week.

    Reply
  13. Melissa Palmer

    Really like the look of this card….and the butterfly was the perfect addition to it! It’s adorable. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
  14. Love all the Sweet Pea “stuff”. Another great inspiration. Thanks for the chance to win the scor-pal!!

    Reply
  15. I love this card

    Reply
  16. We took the kids to an Easter egg hunt in town, but they ended up with no eggs. Very disapointing! So we are planning our own egg hunt and games on Easter, where it will be fun and fair for all!

    Reply
  17. It’s great when you find a scrap of paper and it “speaks to you”. The card came out great and I still love this stamp set.

    Reply
  18. I LOVE following your blog and seeing what fun items you have made. Keep up the awesome work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

