RSS Feed

Vintage Elements

Today I used part of my morning to finish up Colin’s Thank You Notes. I told him that he has to write them out tonight so I can get them in the mail because as of this weekend he’s just going to have more to do.  I then decided I needed to make something new so I got started on this card using the new set Elements of Style.  I used Laura’s sketch from 2 Sketches 4 You.  I then finished it up after we got back from speech.  I love the colors and vintage feel that this card has. 

To make this card I started with a Kraft card stock base and layered a strip of Whisper White that was punched with the Scallop Trim punch onto a piece of Sweet Pea Designer Series Paper.  I cut a piece of Whisper White with the Top Note die in the Big Shot and then stamped my image from Elements of Style onto it in Basic Gray ink.  I watercolored the image and then used a Sponge Dauber and Creamy Caramel ink to give it a vintage feel.  After attaching the Top Note Die I tied on an Old Olive Satin ribbon bow and added a Latte Button threaded with Natural Hemp Twine. The sentiment was stamped in Rose Red ink and the Whisper White layer was again distressed with Creamy Caramel ink.  I layered it on a Rose Red Scallop Oval and then attached it to the card with dimensionals.  To finish off the card I used Pretty in Pink and Old Olive card stock punched with 2 of the Itty Bitty Punches.  I added Frost White Shimmer Paint to the center of each flower and attached them with mini glue dots.

Tomorrow is a busy day.  Evan has school, speech and his preschool screening.  We were hoping he’d be able to attend the local preschool program but the state of Illinois is low on cash so the preschool program is most likely not going to exist next year.  Since I take him there for speech each day we were hoping he’d be able to attend school there and then get speech during the school day.  We’ll have to wait and see if any funding comes through in August.  He’ll still be able to go to preschool where he is right now, but since it’s a private school they don’t have to offer special services such as speech.  I may or may not have a chance to post since I’ll be running from home to various activities tomorrow.  We’ll see how the morning goes. Have a great Tuesday!

Stamps: Elements of Style
Paper: Kraft, Whisper White, Sweet Pea dsp, Rose Red, Old Olive, Pretty in Pink
Ink: Basic Gray, Pretty in Pink, Rose Red, Old Olive, Chocolate Chip, Creamy Caramel
Accessories: Itty Bitty Punches, mini glue dots, Big Shot, Top Note Die, Latte Buttons, Natural Hemp Twine, Old Olive Satin Ribbon, Scallop Trim Punch, Scallop Oval Punch, Large Oval Punch, Frost White Shimmer Paint, Dimensionals, Sponge Dauber, AquaPainter
22 responses »

  1. Beautiful card Jenn! That’s a shame about the preschool possibly going away there. Just yesterday my 1st grader and I were visiting on the way home from the bus after school and I told him that there WAS no such thing as preschool when I was little…he grinned at me like I was fibbing, then when he realized I was serious, he thought that was so weird! That was a LONG time ago!

    Reply
  2. Wow..how gorgeous Jenn!! Can’t wait to get my EOS stamp set!! I’m waiting til may to get the free brads!! I wasn’t able to go to Ldrship this yr.. was laying in the hosp with a new knee!! You do such outstanding designs!!! Love em!!

    Reply
  3. Holy wow Jenn, this is a beauty! I love the color choices.

    Reply
  4. This is gorgeous! I LOVE this! 🙂

    Reply
  5. truly gorgeous!!!

    Reply
  6. Absolutely Beautiful!!!

    Reply
  7. Oh, my goodness…that is absolutely beautiful!

    Reply
  8. Jen this is just STUNNING!! Love it to bits!

    Karen
    x

    Reply
  9. such a stunning card!

    Reply
  10. Oh wow, Jenn, this is STUNNING!

    Reply
  11. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!! We’ll be featuring your card on our blog tomorrow for our Wowzer! Wednesday post! Have a great day! =)

    Reply
  12. Beautiful card!!!! Love the colors and all the details. Hope your preschool plans work out!

    Reply
  13. This is beautiful, I love the bright colors 🙂
    Thanks for playing at 2S4Y!
    Laura

    Reply
  14. You made it so beautiful !!! too bad we don’t have this set in France !

    Reply
  15. Holy wow! This is so gorgeous! I’m amazed at your talent!

    Reply
  16. You rocked it! It’s beautiful…especially the way that you made all of the elements go together!
    Wow.

    Reply
  17. Jenn,
    This is beautiful!!

    Reply
  18. Gorgeous!! Congrats on making the Fab 5!

    Reply
  19. Truly lovely card. Congrats on making the Fab 5 at 2S4Y!

    Reply
  20. So pretty! Congrats on the FAB 5!

    Reply
  21. Gorgeous card!! Congrats on being featured as one of the Fab5

    Reply
  22. beautiful card.. congrats on making the fab 5!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

