RSS Feed

Big Bold Celebration – SFYTT

Today is another busy day in our house. Colin has his baseball photos and is supposed to have his 1st baseball game of the season. However we planned his birthday party before we knew his baseball schedule so he’s having 15 kids join him at Exploration Station. It’s our local Children’s Museum and it’s the place he decided on to hold his celebration at.  I know I’m going to be exhausted after this party and it will only be 1 1/2 hours long. 

Yesterday I bought all of the stuff for the kids goodie bags.  I picked up sand pails and shovels in the Target dollar spot.  I had them stacked in my bedroom and when I got home from my Relay for Life Fundraiser Colin informed me that I should have bought Legos or some other cool toy because as he put it his friends aren’t babies.  When I told him I was stuffing Capri Sun, Granola Bars, Fruit Snacks and Pringles into them he seemed fine with that.  It’s all about the food when you’re 7.  Or maybe the food makes it less babyish. 

To get today started I have a sketch from Jen. Once again she has a fantastic sketch to play with. We’d love for you to play along! Just doing so gives you the chance to be a Designer of the Month and you’ll get to play along with us.  I felt it was fitting for a birthday celebration day to make a birthday card.

For this one I pulled out some bright colors with the Thorougly Modern Designer Series Paper pack.  I started with a Kraft card stock base and then added a layer of Soft Suede and some Thorougly Modern dsp.  The next smaller layer was made the same way.  I just used a different pattern from the package.  I tied on a Bermuda Bay Polka Dot ribbon bow.  The next layer is a Bermuda Bay strip that was paper pierced and stamped with the firework image from July Fourth.  The main image is Whisper White and Soft Suede.  The July Fourth image was stamped in Crushed Curry and Bermuda Bay.  I then added the Bold Cupcake image that was cut out of Rose Red and Thoroughly Modern dsp with the sizzlet die and my Big Shot.  To finish it off I used my Itty Bitty Punch, a Beautiful Wings butterfly and the sentiment from On Your Birthday stamped and punched out with the small oval die.

If you’d like to see more inspiration please check out the other Sketch For You To Try sisters:

Jen del Muro
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer *taking today off*
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles *taking today off*
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
and the Designer of the Month, Makeesha Byl

All supplies are Stampin’ Up!
Stamps:
Fourth of July, On Your Birthday
Paper:Kraft, Soft Suede, Thoroughly Modern dsp, Whisper White, Bermuda Bay, Rose Red
Ink: Bermuda Bay, Rose Red, Crushed Curry, Whisper White craft ink
Accessories: Bermuda Bay Polka Dot Ribbon, Mat pack, Paper Piercer, dimensionals, Big Shot, Bold Cupcakes Sizzlet die, sponge dauber. Beautiful Wings embosslit, Frost White Shimmer Paint, Small Oval Punch, Itty Bitty Punch

5 responses »

  1. Amy Rohl/rohla

    What a fun bd card, Jenn! Love the slant on the cupcake and the candles, what a great look! I also love your bd favor idea…keeping that one tucked away!

    Reply
  2. Oooh…love this and the colors just POP off the page!

    Reply
  3. Adorable Jenn!! Love the cupcake and the candles – so much fun!!!

    Reply
  4. These are fun colors!

    Reply
  5. LOVE the birthday card! I just love that DSP. TFS!

    – Elizabeth (missimagination.com)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

