RSS Feed

A Flower for Mother – SFYTT

Posted on

I can’t say that last week went like anything I planned it to be.  I wanted to finish up Teacher Appreciation Week and spend some relaxing time in my stamp room catching up.  Instead I spent most of it lying either in bed or on the couch.  Day 4 on Zithromax finally gave me some relief from the symptoms of my sinus infection and sore throat.  I never expected it to take so long to take effect.  I missed an entire week of stamping so I was afraid that when I went back into my room that I wouldn’t even be able to put a card together.  Thankfully I walked into my room with Jen’s Sketch for You to Try for this week.  With a sketch in hand, a pack of Designer Series Paper and a will to stamp it was quite easy.  I hope you have a chance to play along with this fantastic sketch.  Just doing so enters you a chance to be the next Designer of the Month.  Jen also has  some other fun news posted over on her blog for participating in this challenge.  

I needed a Mother’s Day card for my Mom.  Of course I’m working on it last minute.  I let the Thoroughly Modern Designer Series Paper do all of the work for me.  I pulled all of my colors from it.  I started with a Kraft card stock base and layered Soft Suede card stock with the Rose Red pattern from the dsp pack.  I sewed around the edges with my sewing machine and Kraft colored thread.  I then added the Taken with Teal dsp and then tied on a 1 1/4″ Chocolate Chip Striped ribbon.  I secured it with Very Vanilla Taffeta ribbon.  My smaller rectangle layer is Soft Suede card stock with Sahara Sand dsp sewn on.  The circles are Rose Red and Whisper White and were cut with the Circle Scissors.  I stamped A Flower for All Seasons on the Whisper White layer and colored it in with an AquaPainter and Old Olive, Going Gray, Rose Red, Crushed Curry and Sahara Sand ink.  To finish it off I used Well Scripted from the Occasions Mini catalog.  If this set doesn’t make the new catalog in July I’ll be sad.  I love this set and I know I’m going to use it a lot.  It’s stamped in Whisper White craft ink on a Full Heart punch of Rose Red card stock.  I sponged the edges of the heart with Rose Red ink to make it stand out a bit more.  The main image and heart are attached to the card with dimensionals.  I then added the 5/16″ Neutrals brads and one Bitty Button to the bottom right hand corner of the card. 

Here is the sketch for this week so that you can play along with us.  If you need more inspiration please check out the rest of the Sketch for You to Try Sisters:

Jen del Muro
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
and the Designer of the Month, Iwona Palamountain

All Supplies are Stampin’ Up!
Stamps
: A Flower for All Seasons, Well Scripted (Occasions Mini ’10)
Paper:Kraft, Soft Suede, Thoroughly Modern dsp, Rose Red, Whisper White
Ink: Basic Gray, Going Gray, Old Olive, Rose Red, Crushed Curry, Sahara Sand, Whisper White craft ink
Accessories:Chocolate Chip 1 1/4″ Striped Grosgrain Ribbon, Very Vanilla Taffeta Ribbon, Bitty Button, 5/16″ Neutrals Brads, Sewing Machine, AquaPainter, Circle Scissors, Sponge Dauber

7 responses »

  1. Gorgeous card! Hope you are feeling better! I’m so in awe and admiration for everything you did for teacher appreciation week! I know how much they must have appreciated it!

    Reply
  2. Jenn, this is just PURE PERFECTION! I adore every bit of this from the DSP to the stamps, the heart and the ribbon! LOVE this! Hope you feel better soon!!

    Reply
  3. So striking! You ROCKED the sketch!

    Reply
  4. Amy Rohl/rohla

    Love that image, Jenn and your coloring of it! Great color!

    Reply
  5. Wow! This is jaw dropping! Love everything about it! Nicely done. 🙂

    Reply
  6. ouh FUN color combo, Jenn!! LOVE the striped ribbon and all those cute little details!!!

    Reply
  7. These colors are beautiful. Stunning card!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

