RSS Feed

Totally Dad – SFYTT

Posted on

When I sat down to work on Jen’s Sketch for You to Try for today I wanted to make a card for my Dad.  It was a year ago today that I got a phone call from my Mom telling me that my Dad was in a car accident.  If you’ve been following my blog for a while you know how serious this accident was.  Last week when we saw him I told him that this weekend I thought it might be best if he lets my Mom drive him around so that we don’t have a repeat of last year. 

To make this card I started with an Old Olive card stock base.  I then layered Chocolate Chip card stock with Tall Tales Designer Series Paper.  The oval is from the Oval Scallop Big Shot die.  After stamping and watercoloring in my Totally Tools stamps I adhered the oval to the card front.  I used my sewing machine without thread to add the paper piercing.  I then added the Brilliant Blue card stock strip and the Large Grommet. The sentiment is the My Way punch with the Rough Type Alphabet.  I also used Natural Hemp Twine and silver brads.

Here is the fabulous sketch from Jen. I hope you have a chance to play along this week.  Each month she chooses her Designer of the Month from participants in the Sketch Challenge.  If you need more inspiration check out the rest of the Sketch for You to Try Sisters:

Jen del Muro
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
and the Designer of the Month, Iwona Palamountain

All Supplies are Stampin’ Up!
Stamps
: Totally Tool, Rough Type Alphabet
Paper: Old Olive, Chocolate Chip, Tall Tales dsp, Whisper White, Brilliant Blue, So Saffron
Ink: Basic Gray, Going Gray, Rose Red, Brilliant Blue, Close to Cocoa, Chocolate Chip, So Saffron
Accessories:Big Shot, Scallop Oval die, Large Grommit, silver brads, Natural Hemp Twine, AquaPainter, dimensionals, My Way Punch, sponge dauber,

8 responses »

  1. What a fun card, Jenn!!! Love the metal accents and Jute twine!!! Perfect manly card!!!

    Reply
  2. What a sweet card for your dad! I love it! Great details, too!

    Reply
  3. This is so cool! I love all the tools and the arrow–and that little silver washer! So cool.

    Reply
  4. This is TOTALLY fantastic Jenn! LOOOOVE the colors, all the stamps and the grommit really makes it all POP! I just LOVE this!!

    Reply
  5. Really cool card for men!! TFS

    Reply
  6. Great for me.. but my dauhgter is “tool gal”.. think I ought to make her one…. and change the sentiment.. I’ll never forget how excited she was the day I bought her a recipricating saw!!!

    Reply
  7. What a great looking Dad card! I love all your details and especially how you used the large grommet. TFS

    Reply

Leave a Reply

