RSS Feed

Simply Happy Birthday

Posted on

Today has been kind of a blah day. I realized that after entering the Artisan Award for the 3rd year in a row that I didn’t win – yet again. I figured that this was my last year entering because I’ve come to realize that my style is not necessarily the same as Stampin’ Up!’s style.  That’s okay because starting tomorrow there is going to be an Almost Artisan blog tour starting.  Over the next 10 days fellow Stampin’ Up! demonstrators who entered but didn’t receive that “important” phone call are sharing projects that they put a lot of time into making.  I’ll also have mine to share with you. 

This is a card I made a while back as a sample.  If you are a Demonstrator you’ve probably seen it under the Color Renovation samples on the Demonstrator Website.  I used Define Your Life, Medallion and All Holidays for this one.  This card uses the new Early Espresso color along with Kraft, Olive Olive and Bashful Blue.

We also had to make a difficult decision about our dog Sophie.  The vet said the only thing he can’t say is that the tumor is going to shrink.  They also found a tumor on the top of her head that I didn’t know about.  We are giving the kids until Wednesday to stay goodbye to her.  I don’t know if we are making the right decision, but I don’t want them to see her suffer.  We also found out that she’s lost 7 lbs since the vet last saw her and she is not on a diet.  They wouldn’t know why unless they did blood work, but we don’t think it’s right putting her through all of that at her age.  I know those of you with pets will understand our predicament.  It’s not an easy decision to make and with the rapid growth in the past few weeks we don’t know how it will continue to grow. 

Well we are off to T-ball practice for Evan, that is if it’s not thundering by the time we get there.

10 responses »

  1. This card is adorable, Jenn! Love the colors and that flower! I’m so sorry to hear about your beloved dog, it breaks my heart for you and your family. And for what it’s worth, we know you are a true Artisan, and I can’t wait to see your samples!

    Reply
  2. I was really pulling for you to win the Artisan Award – I really like your stamping style! Keep your head up –
    So sorry to hear about your dog – I’ve had to make that same decision and I know it’s a heart-wrenching one…

    Reply
  3. Sharon Russell

    Hi Jenn. So sorry you weren’t picked. Disappointing, I know. I also have you & yours in my thoughts and prayers. I’ve had to have several animals put down with similar issues–the last one was my “guardian angel on earth” and she had been with me 16 1/2 years! I know its difficult, but its not right to let them suffer, either. Blessings, Sharon

    Reply
  4. Oh goodness, Jenn, I’m sorry to hear that you were not picked by SU! and if I was you I’d be disappointed too. Your style rocks! So clean and crisp! It’s always perfect!
    Your card today is wonderful!! I’m looking forward to seeing what you did enter and a hop sounds fun!

    Sorry about your dog. I know how difficult it can be. We were in the same situation about 10 years ago. Thinking of you!

    Reply
  5. Wowsa, very nice. Love the tone on tone stamping on the green paper.
    Good luck with you dog, what a sad time.

    Reply
  6. I am disappointed for you about the Artisan Award. I LOVE your style – particularly over some past winners. I click on your blog first for inspiration. Thanks for sharing your artwork, style, and a bit of your family life.

    Reply
  7. Jenn, I am sorry about the Artisan Award. I am not sure what SU is looking for, but I love your style and will continue to follow your delightful blog. Your designs are very classic and well done. Thanks for sharing with all of us.

    Reply
  8. Hey Jenn, I am so sorry you have to make this decision about your beloved pet. When I had to put my cat down that had been with me for 17 years, it was heartwrenching. I sympathize with you and your family during this difficult time.

    I personally love your style and am not always a big fan of all the stampin up styles so personally you are a big winner to me.

    Take Care Jenn! I will be thinking of you and your family.

    Reply
  9. Jenn- I’m so so sorry about your dog. I know it’s one of the hardest decisions ever…I had to make it myself many years ago, and I still think about my first “baby”. He was my best friend from age 6 to 22. I wish you peace in knowing that you’ve made the right decision.

    Big hugs to you and your family!

    Reply
  10. jenn,
    i did not win Artisan Award either and how did you connect with these other ladies to be part of this blog tour? also, how do you post these pictures considering your projects are now owned by stampin’ up!? i’m just curious. i didn’t think i could ever show mine on my blog…
    i love your card by the way and think your style is awesome! lou

    Reply

Leave a Reply

