RSS Feed

Kind and Abundant Thoughts – Almost Artisan

Posted on


Today is the last full day of 1st grade for Colin and Evan’s last day of speech for this school year. When I first started stamping Colin was just entering preschool for his first year.  Time sure has flown by.  

When I sat down to make my Artisan Award cards I wanted to stay true to my style.  I like lots of layers, but I tend to stick to clean and crisp lines.  Even though this card looks fairly simple I added a lot of details to make each layer special.  I was inspired by the spring flowers popping up all around me and wanted a nice bright and fresh card.  I used Abundant Hope for the flowers and wanted to add some pop so the flowers are watercolored and cut out and then popped up with dimensionals.  I used Summer Sun, Old Olive and Always Artichoke classic inks.  I used Sahara Sand to add shadow and dimension.  The sentiment is from the Hostess set Kind & Caring Thoughts.  After the image and sentiment were in place I added strips of Sweet Pea designer series paper and then used a zig zag stitch to add texture.  This layer is popped up on dimensionals.  I added a Kraft circle and a Chocolate Chip Corduroy brad.  The base of the card is Chocolate Chip and is layered with Kraft card stock and more Sweet Pea dsp.  I added paper piercing around this layer. 

I hope you take a moment to check out some of the other demonstrators who are taking part in the Almost Artisan tour.
Cindy
Jamie
Jackie
Patty
Katy
Melissa
Monika *starting next week*
Tracy *starting next week*
Sam *starting next week*
Tina
Kelly
Renee *starting mid-June*
Carrie *posting during convention*
Ashley
Jenn *starting soon*
Carmen

Tomorrow I will have another project I submitted for the Artisan Award and then on Saturday I’ll have a Sketch for You to Try from Jen.  Thanks for all of the kind wishes about Sophie.  Evan doesn’t seem to really understand, but Colin keeps breaking down and crying.  I know it’s going to be harder as we get closer to next Wednesday.  I have to keep telling myself that we are making the right decision for her so that she doesn’t suffer and for the kids so they don’t see her suffer.  It’s going to be a long weekend, but we’ll hopefully find ways to distract ourselves.

12 responses »

  1. Jenn, this card is FABULOUS! All the little details and touches make it just perfect. Thank you SO much for sharing your talents here!

    Also, I’m praying for you and your family about your dog Sophie. It’s very hard to say goodbye to a canine friend. I had a dog as a child and he was 10 when he got hit by a car and we had to put him to sleep. I felt kinda responsible because he was getting cranky in his old age and when I went to grab him so he couldn’t run out the door, he went to bite me, and I let go and he got out and onto the highway. We also have had guinea pigs and two of them lived for 6 years. Even my DH cried!!

    I’ll be thinking about you and the guys this weekend…

    Hugs,
    Susan, aka Soozie4Him on SCS

    Reply
  2. Wow Jenn … this is a STUNNING card! I’m soooooooooooo surprised at the ones that didn’t win … you are so very talented and I can’t wait to see everything you’ve made 🙂

    I hope the next week, as you and your family say goodbye to your dog is a good one … even though it’s tough 😦

    Reply
  3. Jenn, I just love this card, every detail is perfect. What a crisp, bold and happy card!

    Reply
  4. WINNNNNNNNER!!!!!!!!!!!♥♥♥♥♥♥

    Reply
  5. Such a beautiful card with so much detail! Love it! Wow! And I LOVE those corduroy brads! So fabulous!!!!

    Reply
  6. This is simply stunning, Jen! I just love your design and colour choices.

    Reply
  7. Beautiful! Love how this turned out!

    Reply
  8. Jenn this is beautiful – it’s kinda relaxing for me for some reason.

    Reply
  9. Wow, Jenn, this is sooooo beautiful! I love all the fun details.
    Have a fantastic weekend.

    Reply
  10. All I can say is WOW! I can’t even sew, but this card is beautiful!

    Reply
  11. WOW, what a stunning card! love the pop up’s and colors are amazing!

    Reply
  12. How cheerful and springy is this??? Beautiful coloring and I LOVE that you actually SEWED on this!! Awesome, girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

