RSS Feed

All American Thanks – SFYTT

Posted on


It’s Memorial Day weekend and the weather is going to be absolutely perfect! All we have on our calendar is a baseball game around noon and that is it! It’s going to be so nice to kick back and relax and enjoy my family. I am also happy to say that I think my stamping mojo is back. I didn’t know how I’d incorporate Jen’s Sketch for You to Try into a Patriotic card, but I have to say that I am in awe of my creativity on this one.  I stuck with Real Red, Whisper White, Not Quite Navy and to break it up a bit of Thoroughly Modern Designer Series paper. 

To start I have a 5 1/4″ Real Red card base.  I layered it with Not Quite Navy, a piece of distressed Whisper White and then the strip of Thoroughly Modern dsp.  After these were attached I sewed around it with my sewing machine and the Kraft colored thread that is still in it.  I then added the Real Red layer.  It has small star punches adhered and added stitches with a white gel pen.  I attached a Pacific Point Corduroy button with hemp twine in the center and a silver brad on the left hand side.  To make the flag I used a 2 1/2″ Not Quite Navy circle and then adhered strips of Real Red and Whisper White that are 1/4″ thick using Tombow Multi Adhesive.  When they dried I trimmed them to fit the circle.  Then I added the stars with a white gel pen.  I stamped around the flag with letters from the Just Perfect Alphabet using the Stamp-a-ma-jig and Not Quite Navy ink.  I then added the July 4th star that was stamped in Versamark on Not Quite Navy card stock and embossed with silver embossing powder.  I added a natural hemp twine bow to the center to finish the card off.

Here is Jen’s Sketch for this week –

I hope you like this one as much as I liked making it.  If you need more inspiration for this sketch make sure to check out the other Sketch for You to Try Sisters:

Jen del Muro
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
and the Designer of the Month, Iwona Palamountain

I hope you have a fabulous weekend!

12 responses »

  1. What a perfect design for this week’s sketch. I Love the distressed edges and overall feel! You did a great job! I am glad you will be able to have a relaxing weekend!

    Reply
  2. Great card! It’s perfect..

    Reply
  3. Wowza! This is awesome! You always amaze me what you can do with your all SU products! I feel so lazy compared to you!

    Reply
  4. Wow Jenn – this is fabulous. Great job!

    Reply
  5. Awesome card, Jenn! You ROCKED this sketch!

    Reply
  6. I love this–perfect for this weekend!

    Reply
  7. This card is soooo HOT it’s SMOKIN’, Jenn!! A-MAY-ZING!!! I am a Patriotic GEEK, so this is right up my alley!! LOVELOVELOVE it!! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Awesome card for this sketch! Love it!

    Reply
  9. Wow!! What a great card to give to a vet or current military person! Love it!

    Reply
  10. Oh my gosh, this is AWESOME, Jenn! I love what you’ve done with the sketch!

    Reply
  11. OH. MY. GOODNESS!!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this card!!!!

    Reply
  12. I agree! This card is awesome. Love your creativity. Glad I found your site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

