RSS Feed

Watering Can Topiary – Almost Artisan

Posted on

This week I am continuing to show you my Artisan Award entries.  This year I’ve seen a trend of ruffled flowers on cards and I’ve made quite a few of them using the Scalloped Circle punch.  I wondered what they would look like if I combined a bunch of them around a Styrofoam ball to make a topiary.  To do this I had to make over a dozen flowers.  On each one each layer was sponged with Creamy Caramel ink to distress it as well as being stamped with the Define Your Life Delight definition.  I used Sweet Pea Designer Series Paper and Very Vanilla card stock for all of the flower layers.  They are attached to the Styrofoam and each has a Pretties Kit half pearl in the center.  To fill in any bare spaces I used the Trio Flower punch in Pretty in  Pink and sponged the edges with Rose Red ink and then added a Frost White Shimmer Paint Center.  I also added Beautiful Wings Butterflies. To make the stem I painted a Dowel rod Old Olive with Old Olive craft ink and then added a Sweet Pea felt flower. 

I had bought a Real Red watering can at Hobby Lobby and filled it with Styrofoam before adding strips of Old Olive paper that were cut to resemble grass.  I decorated the outside with a Kisses tag that was stamped with the Fresh Cuts stamp set and then added a Beautiful Wings butterfly to tie in the butterfly on the flower. 

It looks like it’s going to be a rainy day today.  It was so hot and sunny for the last two days I am going to welcome the rain.  Tomorrow Colin has to go to school to pick up his report card and then comes right back home.  Then he’ll officially be on Summer vacation too.  On Wednesday we are taking Sophie in to the vet.  I know now that we are making the right decision.  The small lump we could barely feel on top of her head last Wednesday is now visible by just looking at her and I’ve found another lump on her neck that showed up over the weekend.  It all seems to be spreading more rapidly now. 

I hope you have a nice Memorial Day.  I’ll have another Almost Artisan Entry to show you tomorrow.  Also take time to check out the other Demonstrators participating in showing off their Almost Artisan projects.

Cindy
Jamie
Jackie
Patty
Katy
Melissa
Tina
Kelly
Ashley
Carmen
Monika
Tracy
Sam
Jenn
Renee
Carrie
8 responses »

  1. Just wonderful, like all of your other creations!

    Reply
  2. This little can is super cute!!! Nicely done 😀

    Reply
  3. This is so creative and unique! Love it!

    Reply
  4. Jenn, this is gorgeous and definitely AA worthy.

    Reply
  5. This is sooo stinkin’ adorable!!! I gotta try to “ruffle” me up some flowers … I really like the “newsprint-y” feel to these … we shoulda won, eh??? 😉

    Reply
  6. SO CUTE! ADORABLE! FABULOUS! Love it! You are very talented!

    Reply
  7. Jenn, I just love all the details, especially the delight definition on every flower!

    Reply
  8. Amazing! I cannot believe all the details you’ve included. Simply amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

