RSS Feed

Birthday Greetings from Outer Space – SFYTT

Posted on

Can you believe that this is the first card that I stamped since I made my last SFYTT card?  We have not yet gotten into a summer routine.  I hope that next week is better since I only have a few more days left of projects you haven’t seen yet.  I did a double duty with this card.  It’s Jen’s Sketch for You to Try for this week.  It is also the InLinkz Challenge #1 for a Boy Birthday card.  How timely since Colin is going to a birthday party for a friend on Sunday and I needed a card.  I pulled out a few old colors – Wild Wasabi and Baja Breeze.  Since I didn’t have any dsp in these colors I used texture to create my own.  There are a lot of little details going on in this card.

I started with a Pumpkin Pie card stock base that is 5 1/4″ square.  I then layered Not Quite Navy with Wild Wasabi that I ran through the Polka Dot Embossing Folder.  The scrap I had was not quite big enough so I attached a strip with paper piercing and Earth Elements brads.  I also found scraps of Baja Breeze double striped ribbon and made a faux bow with a Latte brad and Natural Hemp Twine.  I then made my main image panel pulling from colors in the base of the card.  I stamped the Pun Fun rocket and masked it before sponging the outer space sky with Not Quite Navy and Baja Breeze ink.  I then watercolored in the main image.  I added a world I made using the 1 3/4″ circle punch and then I free handed the continents before cutting them out.  They are very loose representations.  I then added the sentiment from On Your Birthday.

Here is the sketch so that you can play along with us too.

I hope you like this one as much as I liked making it. If you need more inspiration for this sketch make sure to check out the other Sketch for You to Try Sisters:

Jen del Muro
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
and the Designer of the Month, Andrea Ewen

Well we didn’t get Daisy.  They called and said she had already been adopted, but the references have all been checked and now the rescue just has to set up a home visit.  We will find the perfect puppy for us sometime this summer.  Have a fun weekend!

14 responses »

  1. This is “out of this world” cute! LOL! I love the little “earth” that you created! I love that little rocket ship, too. I haven’t used it in a while. thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
  2. This is AWESOME Jenn! The colors are AMAZING and I LOVE the sky you created! That rocket is one of my fav SU! images! The earth you created is well…out of this world!

    Reply
  3. This is perfect for a little boy! The earth is such a cool little embellishment. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Amazing card, Jenn! I’m taking my time absorbing all of the incredible details! What a work of art!!

    Reply
  5. So fun, Jenn! It IS outta this world!

    Reply
  6. Great boy card…love your images sooo cuuuteee…the boys must be love your card..good luck with the challenge…I just put my card number 90 on the InkLinkz Challenge would you mind to see my Blog?Many thanks before 🙂 hugs, Monika

    Reply
  7. Love your card, Jenn! Very cute!

    Reply
  8. I have been such a lot about space these days, my DH loves all that stuff, so this card must be good for a boy. Well done, good luck in the challenge.

    Reply
  9. love your space ship card, the green almost looks like suede!
    I’m on this link it blog hop too
    (Lyn)

    Reply
  10. what a darling card! love all the extra details you added to it!

    Reply
  11. aww, how fun is this, jenn!?!? i love the little boy colors and the spaceship. all the details are perfect! sorry about Daisy, but the right dog will fall in “your lap” soon, i’m sure. hugs, sus

    Reply
  12. I love it. Lovely rockets!

    Reply
  13. This is so stinkin cute. Love the colors.

    Reply
  14. WOW!! This card is CUTE! Those colors totally rock!! I love that globe you made, so totally amazing and creative!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

