RSS Feed

The case of the sick puppy

Posted on

Unfortunately Bandit is sick.  We knew he had a slight case of Kennel Cough when we brought him home, but on Sunday night he started to become really lethargic.  On Monday morning when he wasn’t doing better I contacted the rescue and they told me to get him into the vet.  He has a bacterial infection on top of his kennel cough and is running a fever.  He got a shot of penicillin and is on antibiotics for the next 14 days.  The poor thing lays at his water bowl.  His nose was so hot yesterday it was drying out.  Today he seems to be doing better, but he still prefers to lay at his water bowl.

Roger also learned a lesson yesterday about puppies.  He’s never had one before.  I told him not to let him out of sight.  He walked into the kitchen to make his lunch and we now don’t have a power cord to our laptop.  Could this innocent looking face have anything to do with it being chewed through?   Because of this I am very behind on my e-mail and answering questions.  Sorry about that.

Two questions I have gotten ask his name and age.  We are calling him Bandit and he is about 5 or 6 months old.

Our new power supply cord should be here on Thursday.

6 responses »

  1. Oh…poor thing! I hate it when they are sick. Funny about the power cord though…it usually only has to happen once though. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Jenn ~ I went through 3 cords with my new puppy. I finally asked the computer guy if I bought the plastic tubing you put on chains if that would go on the supply cord and he said yes. I am going to try that. I have a little dog (Papillon)so it will work for me. Not sure it will work for you and Bandit.

    Robbie

    Reply
  3. Jenn, I sure hope he gets better soon. I’m a cat person, but when the animals are sick, you just feel sooo sorry for them!!! Hang in there!

    Reply
  4. Every single dog I have ever brought home has gotten sick right away. I don’t know what it is but they always do. They thought Karen (yellow lab) had Parvo and I was hysterical. Luckily she’s still with us and still driving me crazy 7 yrs later.

    Reply
  5. My best friend bougt this kind of dog years ago for her son. Looks just like yours & they named him Bandit!! How surprising! Hope he gets well soon.

    Reply
  6. Oooooo, poor puppy! My daughter and I are just sitting here making sad noises on Bandit’s behalf … hopefully he will be up and running in no time. He’s lucky to have you guys … and nothing is safe, not even the corners of kitchen cabinets (ask me how I know this!)!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

