RSS Feed

Better Blossoms

Posted on

I haven’t mentioned it yet, but my grandmother is in the hospital.  She fell down twice on Monday and the second time they thought she had broken her hip.  I’m not sure what is wrong, they are still doing tests, but she’s still in the hospital.  So Colin and Evan asked if we can take her a card when we go to my parent’s house this coming Sunday.

I combined the Ways to Use It challenge with the Our Creative Corner sketch for this week.  I bet you can tell that I haven’t put away my Apple Blossoms Hostess set and that I’m loving having Baja Breeze added back into the color mix.  I wanted a nice soothing color scheme so I went with Baja Breeze, Whisper White, Soft Suede and Crumb Cake.  The main images are from Apple Blossoms and the sentiment is from a retiring hostess stamp set, Kind and Caring Thoughts.

To make this card I cut my card stock base and then the Whisper White layer.  The Soft Suede dsp is sponged with Soft Suede ink before adding the Baja Breeze strip and Kraft Taffeta ribbon.  The main image panel is Soft Suede and Crumb Cake.  I used the Stamp-a-ma-jig to line up the images.  Two are stamped in Baja Breeze and two in Whisper White and then heat embossed with White embossing powder.  I pulled out a Baja Breeze corduroy button and threaded it with Hemp twine.

We are down to 1 week left of me being a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator.  My website has now been cancelled since I didn’t want to pay for the next month if it was only going to be active for a week.  As I’ve mentioned my Mom has now signed up and those of you who said Okay have been transferred to her.  I put her link in the right hand side bar.  My catalogs will be here tomorrow, so those of you who have asked for one will get it with her information on the back.  I will get them out to you ASAP!

This weekend Bandit starts Puppy classes at Petsmart.  We went in to buy him some more training treats today and I saw that it would be 8 weeks before the next Sunday class started.  I want him to be well trained so we signed up and we’ll be taking him right after church on Sunday.  I bet he’s going to love it.  He’s been training quickly.  He was housebroken in just a few days and is now working on the Sit command.  This Saturday we will have had him for two weeks and he’s the perfect puppy so far.

Well we are off to Tennis for Colin, T-ball for Evan and then the last baseball “practice” for Colin.  They are going to Wendy’s for Frosties since Wendy’s is our team sponsor.  Colin has his last game of the season tomorrow night and it’s his last day of tennis as well.  I can’t wait!  I am tired of being a chauffeur.  I want to be able to be home a bit more and get more of my stuff done.

7 responses »

  1. Ooooh, great card! Love those colors together! That new stamp set is so fun, isn’t it?! Hope your grandma is better soon!

    Reply
  2. Oh my goodness, Jenn…I love everything about this card! WOW!

    Reply
  3. Oh my heavens Jenn, this is a beauty. I love how subtle it is, even with the pops of color.
    Hope your Grandmother is feeling better, poor dear.

    Reply
  4. i love the card, and i have a treat suggestion for bandit. instead of buying expensive treats, try carrots, cut up into rounds. my aussies go NUTS for them, they’re healthy, and they’re great because you can give them as many as you want to reinforce good behavior and not feel bad about doing so!

    Reply
  5. Your card is fabulous! Love the corduroy button. Sorry to hear about your grandmother. Hope she is better soon.

    Reply
  6. Your card is gorgeous, I love the combination of blue and browns, very relaxing and charming. Hope grandma is feeling better soon, I know this card will help!

    Reply
  7. This card is wonderful. The colors work so well together. Thank you for joining OCC this week. Please join us again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

