RSS Feed

Playful Birthday Pieces – SFYTT

Posted on

Yesterday I registered to attend CHA on July 30 & 31! I am so happy that it is back in Chicago this year.  I really missed attending last year.  Are any of you planning to attend?  Let me know and maybe we’ll happen to run into each other.   I also spent a good portion of the afternoon getting my card done for this week’s Sketch for You to Try.  I’d love for you to play along with us.  Jen, like usual has a fabulous sketch for this weekend.

I chose the colors for this card based on a new package of Designer Series Paper that will be in the new Stampin’ Up! catalog – Tempting Turquoise, Poppy Parade, So Saffron, Pear Pizzazz and Whisper White.  I mainly used the new Level III Hostess stamp set Playful Pieces for the pennants, cake and stand and balloons.  The  “happy” is from On Your Birthday and the “birthday” is from All Holidays.

The images on this card look fairly simple as is the layering but each piece took a good deal of time.  I started by making the base to the card and then layering Poppy Parade with the So Saffron striped dsp from Tall Tales.  I then added two strips of Pear Pizzazz.  The bottom portion has Pennants from Playful Pieces.  I stamped them in Poppy Parade, Pear Pizzazz, So Saffron and Tempting Turquoise.  I then used my Stamp-a-ma-jig to stamp the letters on them in Chocolate Chip ink.  They were each cut out and attached with a dimensional.  I then used Tombow Multi Adhesive to adhere the Silver cording and bows.  I thought it was a fun little detail to add to this card.  I then stamped the cake and plate using Playful Pieces and the same colors from the Pennant Banner.  I added a Blushing Bride flower made from the Itty Bitty punch and silver brad.  I then went onto adding the balloons and strings.

Here is the Sketch for You to Try from Jen.

I hope you have a chance to play along with this fabulous sketch. Doing so puts you in the running to be the next Designer of the Month.  If you need further inspiration please check out the rest of the Sketch for You to Try Sisters.

Jen del Muro
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
and the Designer of the Month, Andrea Ewen

Well I’m going to enjoy a nice hot day with not much to do.  Baseball ended yesterday along with Tennis.  Colin has 4 days left of swimming and we are done with activities for a bit.  I can’t wait!  I’m excited to have a less scheduled summer, that is until soccer starts.  Maybe I’ll be able to get ahead on my stamping because it’s supposed to be super hot today.  I hope you have a fun weekend!

10 responses »

  1. How cute! I love the little banner! I am so out of SU! world it is nice to see the new colors! Great card!

    Reply
  2. THis is ADORABLE, Jenn! Love your balloon trio and your banner along the bottom!

    Reply
  3. This is fabulous, Jenn, and the little birthday banner is terrrr-ific!

    Reply
  4. Super fun card! Great job with that sketch!

    Reply
  5. Such a fun card! I love those little balloons and the darling little birthday banner!

    Reply
  6. LOVE your card–the banner and balloons are FABULOUS!

    Reply
  7. What a FUN card, Jenn!!!! Love the little banner!!!

    Reply
  8. This is awesome! I love the banner.

    Reply
  9. What a DARLING banner! Lovable colors, too!!

    Reply
  10. Cute card. Like the banner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

