RSS Feed

Occasional Watercolors & Plea for Cards

Posted on

What a busy weekend! I know I always say that, but they really are. On Saturday Evan and Colin had a friend over in the morning and then we went to the Friendship Festival to use up the tickets we had left over from Wednesday night.  It was so hot and there weren’t many lines, but the heat just zapped the energy out of you.  Yesterday we went to church, then to puppy class, then to my parents and then to visit my grandmother in the hospital.

Today my grandma  is moving from the hospital to the convalescent center.  They don’t think she’ll be able to move back home with my parents again.  She’s going to be 91 in less than a month and all of a sudden she can’t walk at all.  It started with 2 falls a week ago Monday that led to her hospitalization.  When we went to see her yesterday I’ve never seen her look so frail and weak.  Until last week she was still getting around and driving.  Now she can’t even get up out of bed or a chair by herself.

If you can spare a card to cheer her up you can e-mail me for her address.

Today we had swimming and then the boys and I worked in the yard a bit.  It’s only 82 out and it feels heavenly after the mid 90’s this past weekend.  I decided I needed to whip up a fast card so I combined the Clean and Simple Challenge on SCS with the Fall to Layout 96.  I used Baja Breeze, Pear Pizzazz and Whisper White card stock and Pear Pizzazz, Pumpkin Pie and Soft Suede ink.  I colored in the Watercolor Trio images with markers and then spritzed them with water before stamping onto the main image panel.  I then added paper piercing and distressing.  I finished it off with Bashful Blue satin ribbon, a Latte Button and natural Hemp Twine tied in a bow.  The sentiment is from the Level III Hostess stamp set Occasional Quotes.  I have this on loan from my Mom.

I hope you have a fantastic week!

One response »

  1. I will send your grandma a card. My grandmother passed away last October. She was 91. She fell and broke her hip and then in a few weeks was ready to go to heaven. It was really hard for my family. Especially me, I was her “Favorite” grand child. We were very close. My kids called her Grandma Cotton Top because she had white curly hair. I will pray your Grandmother will make a full recovery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

