RSS Feed

Birthday Blossoms

Posted on

I hope you aren’t thinking to yourself – not this stamp set again!.  I promise I have put it away but it keeps lending itself to sketches and I keep pulling it back out.  The Apple Blossom Hostess set is so much fun.  I’m glad I ordered it before I left Stampin’ Up!.

I used the OCC Sketch Challenge 24 for my card.  I flipped the sketch so the largest panel is at the top.  I started by knowing what Designer Series Paper piece I wanted to use from the Sweet Pea pad.  I promise I’m almost done with that too.  It has been fabulous to work with and I’ll miss it when it’s gone.  I wanted the butterflies on the paper to be the bottom panel and to not detract from them I moved my ribbon up higher on the card.  After attaching the dsp to my So Saffron panel I sewed around both of them with Kraft thread.  I then added my main image panel of Old Olive and Whisper White.   I inked the stamp in  Pumpkin Pie and stamped twice and did the same with Old Olive.  I added the On Your Birthday in Crumb Cake paper and ink and punched it out with the Word Window punch.  I added two Beautiful Wings butterflies that have been sitting on my table.  It’s attached to the card with dimensionals.

I’ll let you in on a secret with the butterflies.  Whenever I cut them out and don’t use them I store them in an empty brad or button container on my desk.  That way when a card lends itself to needing a butterfly I always have one on hand.

I found out good news for Shadow today!  She may be adopted this weekend.  She’s only been here for a week, but she is so super sweet and loving.  I’m going to miss having her around, but I know that she’s going to go to a family that loves her and will take good care of her.  The details are being set up so we’ll see if we can make our schedule work with the adopting family.  I bet Bandit is going to be sad.

I’ll see you tomorrow for Jen’s Sketch for You to Try.  I’m super excited about how my card came out and I tried something new!  I used a Digital stamp for the first time and survived.  You’ll want to check back and see how I did.

Stamps: On Your Birthday, Apple Blossoms
Paper: Pumpkin Pie, Old Olive, Crumb Cake
Ink: Old Olive, So Saffron, Sweet Pea dsp, Whisper White
Accessories: Big Shot, Beautiful Wings Embosslit, glue dots, word window punch, Old Olive satin ribbon, mat pack, paper piercer, sewing machine
3 responses »

  1. Oh heavens, this is such a bright and cheery card. I love all the color, you are THE best at using lots of color.

    Reply
  2. i love this stamp set!! beautiful card 🙂 thanks for joining us on the OCCSC this week 🙂

    Reply
  3. This is just gorgeous! I love everything about it 🙂
    Thanks for joining in with us at the OCCSC
    Shaz x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

