RSS Feed

Birthday Luxuries

Posted on

This weekend we are celebrating my grandmother’s 91st birthday.  I’m not sure if this is the card I’ll be giving her, but it’s a great possibility as I don’t have any cards in the house right now.  I made this for a few of the Dare to Get Dirty challenges on SCS.  One challenge was a sketch, one was to Strut Your Stuff and the other was for glitter.

I used Lap of Luxury dsp and pulled all of my colors right from there.  The base is Pretty in Pink and the back layer is Basic Gray and dsp.  The strip across the bottom portion is Concord Crush and dsp.  To make my main image I used an oval I cut out with the Coluzzle.  I then stamped my Birthday Bakery image in Basic Gray ink and then masked the images.  I used a mask I cut with the Coluzzle and then sponged on Bashful Blue ink before watercoloring my images in.  After I was done I added some doodling and Crystal Effects with glitter sprinkled on for some of the icing.  I finished it off with the sentiment and a Chocolate Chip epoxy brad attached to a Filigree brad that I’ve been hoarding.

I’m glad I got a lot of stamping done at the beginning of the week because the last two days I haven’t had a chance to stamp at all.  Yesterday Colin and Evan had play dates.  While Evan was out Colin had a friend over.  I used the time to prep our dinners for the rest of the week and weekend. I made Mexican Stuffed Peppers, Orzo Pasta with fresh veggies and Chili for a crock pot Chili Dog recipe.  Today I cleaned.  I love starting the weekend with a clean house.  I’m a little bummed because when I finished the floor I noticed my Bissel Flip It had a cap fall apart.  I have to see if Roger can fix it for me.  I can literally wash all of the floors in our house in under 20 minutes and have them dry by the time I’ve emptied and cleaned out the compartments.  It better not be broken since I haven’t seen these in stores for years.  I can’t even find the solution in stores anymore so I’m afraid they fazed them out.

Tomorrow Colin has an eye Dr. appointment.  We’ll see if he has to continue patching or not.  He’s been patching since he’s been 3, and we’ve cut down from all of his waking hours to 3 hours every other day. We’re getting to the age where his brain is supposed to get used to keeping his eye “turned on” all of the time.  I’ve certainly learned a lot about amblyopia over the last few years.

Stamps: Birthday Bakery
Paper: Pretty in Pink, Lap of Luxury dsp, Basic Gray, Concord Crush, Very Vanilla
Ink: Bashful Blue, Basic Gray, Pretty in Pink, Crumb Cake, Chocolate Chip, Cherry Cobbler, Old Olive
Accessories: AquaPainter, Coluzzle, Sponge Dauber, Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker, dimensionals, dazzling diamonds, crystal effects, Chocolate Chip Epoxy brads, Filigree brad
Techniques: watercoloring, masking

One response »

  1. What a sweet and wonderful card. I love the colors and the image is really cool.
    Happy Birthday to your Grandmother!
    Hope the eye doctor appointment is a success too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

