Playful Wishes

Yesterday I decided to tackle the sketch challenge on SCS. This one really pushed me because of the panels that hang over the side. I’m more of a square or rectangular card maker.  I did make it so that it will fit in a standard envelope though.  The base of the card is 3 3/4″ X 5 1/2 and the panels extend it out to 4 1/4″ at the widest point.  The base is So Saffron and is then layered with Crumb Cake and Play Date designer series paper.  I started to sew around the card and then ran out of thread on my bobbin.  Instead of re-threading it I just continued around with the sewing machine.  I kind of like the look of it that way.  The strips started out as 1″ strips of Chocolate Chip and the DSP is 7/8″.  I simply cut the edges to fit the sketch and then traced a line on the back of my dsp strips.  I then trimmed inside of the line with my scissors to match the bottom layer.  The fairy is from My Favorite Things and I stamped her on Whisper White card stock and then trimmed it to 2 5/8 X 3 3/4 trimming out the wings and part of her dress to stand outside of the box.  It’s layered with Crumb Cake card stock and sponged with Chocolate Chip ink.  I then paper pierced her dress and watercolored her in with an AquaPainter.  I added a small half pearl to her necklace.  The sentiment is stamped in Chocolate Chip and punched out with the Modern Label punch and attached with 2 silver brads.

This morning Bandit went in for his surgery and hopefully all will go well for him.  I think he’ll be coming back home tonight.  I know I’ll be nervous until I hear from the vet so hopefully I’ll get some stamping time in to keep my mind off of it this morning.

I don’t know about where you live, but it feels like a tropical rain forest here.  Last night we took an hour walk after dinner and the kids were so sweaty from riding their scooters when we got back.  The outside of the windows were covered in condensation.  It was only 79 degrees, but the dew point was about 75.  It feels like we are standing in a blanket of water.  I can’t wait for things to start cooling down.  I’ll take an extra long fall with nice fall like weather instead of this stuff any day.

Stamps: My Favorite Things – Sweet Fairy Jolinne
Paper: So Saffron, Crumb Cake, Playdate dsp, Chocolate Chip, Whisper White
Ink: Basic Gray, Bashful Blue, So Saffron, Old Olive, Blush Blossom, Pink Pirouette, Chocolate Chip
Accessories: Modern Label punch, sewing machine, dimensionals, silver brads
Techniques: watercoloring, paper piecing

4 responses »

  1. Uhhhh…NAILED IT! This card rocks! It may of pushed you, Jenn, but you shoved back! Love it.

    Hugs,
    B.

    Reply
  2. Love, love, love this!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: My Favorite Things » Blog Archive » Our Favorite Finds – August 3 through August 9

  4. Oh my goodness, this is beautiful!
    Congratulations, your project is being featured on the MFT Blog today as part of Our Favorite Finds!

    Reply

Leave a comment