RSS Feed

School Day Note – SFYTT

It’s Saturday and we have our first soccer game of the season at 9:30, but Colin has to be out there at 9. He’s been doing really well this year and has been enjoying the practices so far. We’ll see how he does at his game. This is the first season Roger hasn’t coached. I also have my Sketch for You to Try card for Jen’s sketch. This month we have Ashley Nguyen Newell joining us.

This week I have a sketch using some new Stampin’ Up! stamps and Designer Series Paper.  For this card I combined the Greeting Card Kids with Newsprint dsp and Love Letters dsp. My base is Riding Hood Red and I threw in Basic Black and Very Vanilla.  To make the base paper look like notebook paper I used a hole punch and simply punched every other space.  I distressed that edge with the Cutters Tool Kit and then stamped on it with Define Your Life in Crumb Cake that was stamped off.  I used the Journey defintion.  The circles are cut with the Circle Scissors and were then distressed.  I’m proud of the fact that I used my sewing machine to sew around a circle!  I’m good with straight lines but this was a first for me.

I wanted to show off a new embellishment I have. The flowers were made for me by my Mom.  She has been crocheting them for me in the evenings while she watches TV. I added a Neutrals button in the center and attached it with Naturals Hemp Twine before using a glue dot to add it to my card.  This also gives you a better view of the distressed edge I added to the card. Colin wants to give this to his teacher when he starts school in a few weeks. Hopefully she will like it.

Here is Jen’s Sketch for You to Try. It’s a fabulous sketch and I hope that you have a chance to play along with us. Also make sure to check out the Sketch For You to Try Sisters to see what they worked up with this fun sketch.

Jen del Muro
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
Carole Burrage
and the Designer of the Month, Ashley Nguyen Newell

I hope you have a fun weekend as summer starts to wind down. We are taking a 3 day weekend and are going to Fair Oaks Farm in Indiana on Monday. It’s only about 45 minutes from our house and the boys really like it the last time we were there.

Supplies:
Stamps: Greeting Card Kids, Define Your Life, Apple Blossoms
Paper: Riding Hood Red, Basic Black, Very Vanilla
Ink: Basic Gray, Marina Mist, Riding Hood Red, So Saffron, Soft Suede, Crumb Cake, Blush Blossom
Accessories: 1/8 Hole Punch, Cutters Tool Kit, Sewing Machine, Twill Tape, Neutrals Brads, AquaPainter, Sponge Dauber, Neutrals Buttons, Natural Hemp Twine, Glue dots, Dimensionals

12 responses »

  1. Love this, Jenn! The notebook paper background paper looks fantastic and the crocheted flower is gorgeous! Love the sentiment stamped on twill, too!

    Reply
  2. Super cute, Jenn! Love that crochet flower made by your Mom! This card is pure perfection!

    Reply
  3. Ack! TOO cute for words!! Love the creamy elements with the striped paper, crocheted flower and twill tape! So perfect for school! Why am I too lazy/scared to try coloring these stamps?! Ugh!

    Reply
  4. This is so cute! My mom just ordered Greeting card kids for me for my birthday! I can’t wait for it to arrive! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
  5. This is SO sweet Jenn! LOVE this image and the papers are AWESOME! LOVE the crocheted flower too!!!

    Reply
  6. I love this! The image is so cute and I adore how you colored it and made it look so vintage! I need to find some tutorials on how to do that, it’s amazing! The stamped twill and the crocheted flower are awesome too!

    Reply
  7. Gosh I just LOVE this vintage look! These little kiddos are TOO cute and I love the accents you used as well. Great job!!! 🙂

    Reply
  8. So cute! I love that image, I may have to order it!;)

    Reply
  9. Stephanie Perry

    This card is delightful. It would be so helpful if you would describe the method of coloring these sweet images. I’m impressed you decided to use your sewing maching to stich around the circle (looks perfect for this card BTW!). A wonderful card that your son’s teacher should really enjoy!

    Reply
  10. Oh my heavens, this is adorable!

    Reply
  11. Jenn, this came out so dern cute! I hope Colin’s teacher will love it too. Great job crafty lady.

    Reply
  12. Oh my gosh – talk about adorable! I love this stamp set. I finally played with it for the first time last night. It’s one of my favs out of the new catty. Your cards are great. Love your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

