RSS Feed

Winter Magic – SFYTT

I’m ready for the heat of summer to be over. So ready I created a Christmas card just to channel some cooler weather. I’m not kidding when I say we spend most of our days trapped inside simply because the 90+ degree heat mixed with the humidity is pure torture.  Hopefully these snowflakes will help cool me off along with the cool colors in the color combination.  I made a card using these colors the other day too and loved them.

I wish you could see the detail on the main image panel because I sprayed it with a white Smootch Spritz and it’s glittery and shiny just like Shimmery White card stock.  In real life it’s so gorgeous and rich.  I combined 3 Stampin’ Up! stamp sets – Season of Friendship (snowflake), A Little Bit of Magic (sentiment) and my newest favorite Greeting Card Kids.

I was hoping that this photo would show off some of the Smootch Spritz glimmer, but sadly it doesn’t.  You can see the fantastic texture of the Lattice Embossing Folder and the very retired Felt Flurries that I have in Baja Breeze and Whisper White.  This one had an open center so I added a Bitty Punch flower and a silver brad and then attached it with a dimensional.  I also added another sentiment banner.  I’ve been stuck on these the last few days.  I promise to move on soon, but they are so fun to make.  I just make 2 scores on each side and then mountain and valley fold before trimming the edges.  The curvy sewing is intentional.  I’m a very straight lines sort of girl so it was fun to push myself out of my comfort zone a bit.  I like the way it looks and it reminds me of mounds of drifting snow.

Of course you want to see the fabulous sketch Jen as provided for us this week.  I can see endless possibilities for this one and I had a blast working with it.  If you need more inspiration check out the fabulous Sketch for You to Try Sisters.  I know you won’t be disappointed.

Jen del Muro
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
Carole Burrage
and the Designer of the Month, Ashley Nguyen Newell

Well we have an 11 am soccer game.  I’m glad it’s not mid day because we’d probably melt.  This afternoon we are taking the kids to a cookout to celebrate the end of summer and the start of school next week.  There are lots of activities planned with a slip-n-slide and water balloons.  Just what they need to cool off on another blistering hot day.  I hope you stay cool and if you have a chance to stamp how about sampling the sketch with us.

Winter Magic Supplies: All Supplies Stampin’ Up!
Stamps: Greeting Card Kids, Season of Friendship, A Little Bit of Magic
Paper: Baja Breeze, Very Vanilla, Crumb Cake, Poppy Parade, Soft Suede, Newsprint dsp
Ink: Basic Gray, Poppy Parade, Blush Blossom, Pink Pirouette, Baja Breeze, Soft Suede, Old Olive, Daffodil Delight, Sahara Sand
Accessories: Big Shot, Lattice Embossing Folder, Sewing Machine, Sponge Dauber, Alpine Originals Felt Ribbon, Felt Flurries, 5/16 Neutrals brad, silver brad, Itty Bitty Punch, Dimensionals, Smootch Spritz

7 responses »

  1. This is so cute! My mom gave me this set last saturday after you posted your super sweet card. I have inked up the school kids and have them sitting waiting for a project. Now I will need to ink up this little gal! Thanks for the inspiration! I really love all of the great details on this!

    Reply
  2. Oh, Jen — this is a sight for sore, hot eyes! Love this vintage-y image, and all of your details are just spot on. Lovely!

    Reply
  3. Alright, I need this Greeting Card Kids set! This is sooooo cute and I love the cute images! Your coloring looks great and I love all the details!

    Reply
  4. Ack! This one is tooooo cute too! More book paper, love it! Great job with that sketch!

    Reply
  5. Lovely! I understand wanting cooler weather. This is really does get one in the Christmas spirit!

    Reply
  6. Oooh, I bought this set too, Jenn. It’s really the one thing from the new catalog that I knew I had to have. Love your card!

    Reply
  7. Seriously…this could not be more perfect Jen! If I saw this card on SCS I would know it was yours without even looking at the name! Just PERFECTION!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

