RSS Feed

Elements of Congrats – SFYTT

What a week! On Monday I was outside playing soccer with Colin and the dogs for Colin’s 20/20 program. Every month they are supposed to aim to get 20 minutes of activity for 20 days. Colin thought his gym teacher would get a kick out of having “played soccer with dogs” on his chart. Bandit loves to play with a soccer ball that has seen better days.  As we were playing I tripped over one of the dogs and should have let myself fall.  Instead I tensed up and kept my balance, but in the process I pulled a muscle in my lower back and by Monday night I could barely walk.  I’ve switched between ice and heat and it had to get better.  Roger was out of town from Wednesday night until Thursday night and I couldn’t take care of the boys if I couldn’t walk.  I just avoided things that bothered it, like walking down the stairs, which I have to do to get to my stamp room.  Oh well, such is life.  At least my back is barely bothering me now.

Today I have a Sketch for You to Try card from Jen and this week we have a fabulous sponsor – Lil’ Inker Designs.  We were each given a fabulous Sentiment Flag die and stamp set to use.  You can find them here.  I am always making sentiment flags and now I have an easier way to do it then just free handing it! I used the die and stamp set on my Congratulations layer.

Before I get into the details of the card, here is the wonderful sketch that Jen provided for us this week.

I decided to move away from fall and Halloween themed cards for this sketch.  I needed a new color scheme and wanted to use the Blueberry Crisp dsp from Stampin’ Up!.  It’s the same patterns as Razzleberry Lemonade that I loved so much, but this one has Pacific Point, Not Quite Navy, Sahara Sand and Very Vanilla for the color scheme. The base of my card is Pacific Point followed by Very Vanilla and two of the Blueberry Crisp patterns.  The square behind the main image circle is Sahara Sand layered with Not Quite Navy that was embossed with the Lattice embossing folder.  I cut the circle with Nestabilities and embossed it.  I then used Elements of Style from Stampin’ Up! and colored it with Pacific Point, Not Quite Navy and Old Olive.  I like the way it turned out.  The bow is a double bow made out of Very Vanilla Satin ribbon.

I hope you have a chance to play along with us.  For more inspiration please check out the rest of the Sketch for You to Try Sisters:

Jen del Muro and the Designer of the Month Lesa Smaligo
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
Carole Burrage

Today is family picture day so we are heading out and hoping it isn’t going to rain for our outdoor photo shoot.  I’m hoping to get a  great picture to use for our Christmas cards.  I’m thinking of doing some sort of Hybrid card this year.  I hope you have a fantastic weekend!

3 responses »

  1. This is SOOOOOOOOO elegant Jenn! LOVE the colors/papers you’ve used here and those flowers are BEAUTIFUL! That big beautiful ribbon really ties it all together(grin!)

    Reply
  2. This is a beautiful card. Gorgeous flowers, papers and ribbon. I love how you added in Sentiment Flags here. It’s just gorgeous!! Thank you so much for your support. It’s been so nice to work with you!
    Laura

    Reply
  3. I love the card Jenn and I am glad you are feeling better. Take Care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

