RSS Feed

Life Moves On

I’ve come to the realization that I am not in the same place I was 4 years ago when I started my blog.  I’ve also come to the realization that I am fine with that.  This year has brought a lot of changes.  The biggest is that I gave up all of my direct sales business ventures and decided to focus on family instead.  In doing so I no longer have lots of time when it’s nice out to stamp on weekends.  I’ve also volunteered for a lot of different activities inside of my kids schools.  I’ve found that I love to be there with them and take part in their day.  Surprisingly I’m no longer guilty about not updating my blog everyday with new paper crafting projects.  However, I am not willing to give my blog up just yet.  Instead I thought I’d show you some of the other crafty things we are doing around the house.  One of the biggest right now is pumpkin carving.

Evan, my fiesty red-head, is going to be Elmo for the 3rd or 4th year in a row.  I actually think that he’s been Elmo since he started walking at 10 months old.  Of course he wanted an Elmo pumpkin and Roger found this pattern for free online.  I’m not quite sure what site he got it from, but I’m sure a google search can find it for you if want to make one of your own.  I will warn you that it does not last long.  There are not many wide pieces holding Elmo together and sadly he has already met his demise.  Evan has another idea for the next pumpkin we will carve closer to Halloween.  This one was going to be his entry into a Cub Scout carving contest, but it didn’t even make it there.  I am so lucky that we got the photos first!

Yesterday my day consisted of decorating the Teacher’s Lounge at Colin’s school for Halloween.  Evan and I then did chores and spent the afternoon together.  I then finished up by volunteering at Market Day.  Today I volunteered in the library at Colin’s school and I got to help with the Aaron Reynolds assembly.  He talked to the 3rd and 4th graders about writing graphic novels and gave them each a taste of starting one on their own.  The 1st and 2nd graders got to hear him read his book Chicks and Salsa and then he made the kids chips and salsa.  They had a blast!

I hope you decide to stay with me as my life takes a different path from daily paper crafting.  Maybe once the weather cools down I’ll have more time to do more.  Until then I’m enjoying my family and volunteering for my kids schools.  I’m sure you understand that life always continues to move on.

5 responses »

  1. Hi Jenn,

    I understand completely with having to make changes in your life for the better of your family. Accepting that we don’t need to be everyone to everyone is a blessing. I love your blog and will continue to check in and see your creations, regardless if they are paper or not. I always love what you share. Thanks for continuing to do so, as you always give me great inspiration. Love the pumpkin by the way!

    Reply
  2. Totally understand, Jenn! I think it’s great! I have you in my blog reader, so you’ll pop up whenever you post. Works for me! Have a great week!

    Reply
  3. I totally understand, and I’m so glad you are able to volunteer at your kiddos’ schools. I did the same when mine were in pre-k and elementary. Now that they are in middle school, there aren’t many opportunities. Enjoy them while they’re little! Believe me, it won’t last long!

    Big hugs!

    Reply
  4. I’m right there with you. Family is most important, so my blog languishes. I love spending time in the school and giving back to the teachers. Your blog is in my google reader and I won’t be removing it – I love your work!

    Reply
  5. You go girl!!!! Follow your path, and we will be there!!!
    Love Elmo!!!
    Diane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

