RSS Feed

Fill the Season with Smiles – SFYTT

I can’t believe that it is Saturday again and that today we are celebrating Evan’s 5th birthday with his friends. He invited his entire preschool class of 30, plus a few kids from the neighborhood. We are going to our local gynmastics place and they run the kids ragged for an hour and then we get 30 minutes to eat cake and pass out party favors. I’ve told Evan that we will not have enough time to open presents there so hopefully he will listen to me.  There is no option to go over your time since we have the 1st party spot of the day and another one will follow right after us.  After bringing the presents home I hope to write out the Thank You notes as he opens them.  I love multi-tasking!  I’ll let you know how that goes. My bet is that Evan rips everything open as fast as he can and I won’t see who gave him which gift.

So today for Jen’s Sketch for You to Try, I did vary the sketch a little bit.  I turned it on it’s side and didn’t quite do the top element like she had it, but hopefully you’ll be so wow’d by the interactive slider card you won’t care.  I used a 12 X 5 1/2 piece of Real Red card stock to make the base.  I just did a google search and found many places for instructions online. It was really easy to make with elements from the retired Simply Scrappin’ Kit – Christmas Jingle.  I did minimal stamping with Delightful Decorations in Whisper White along the right side of the card.

Here is what happens when you pull the ribbon tab on the right.  It pulls open on both sides to reveal your Christmas message.  The sliding mechanism is helped out by adding a strip of a sandwich bag. I hope this card makes it until the holidays since Evan has taken such a liking to it and is constantly opening and closing it.

If you need more inspiration please check out the rest of the Sketch for You to Try Sisters:

Jen del Muro and the Designer of the Month
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien *taking time off*
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford *taking time off*
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
Carole Burrage *taking time off*

Well I am off to pick up a cake, stuff 25 mini buckets with goodies and go to Evan’s party.  I just hope I remember everything – matches especially.  I forgot them for Colin’s party and he had to pretend to blowout the candles.

4 responses »

  1. Fantastic take on this week’s sketch, Jenn! Love those slider cards!

    Reply
  2. Jenn,this is stunning. I love how you’ve used this stamp set. Wow.

    Reply
  3. Wow, wow, wow! This is one super pretty card. And, I love all the tricks it does! LOL

    Reply
  4. Clicked over from the pioneerwoman. You had a most busy weekend and when I saw the beautiful work you do I thought you might enjoy the gift giving program we are featuring at waddleeahchaa.com, “Operation Christmas Child”. I thought your family could fill a box and then you could decorate it. What a wonderful way to celebrate your talent and bring a smile to a child’s face. You could also track the child who receives the gift and have a little geography lesson.

    If you click on Mond. and leave a comment you are entered to win our weekly book giveaway. Hope to hear from you soon. 🙂 joyce

    Reply

Leave a Reply

