RSS Feed

December 25 – SFYTT

Another week has just flown by.  My parents were able to fly back from Reno after a few delays due to tornadoes that touched down in NW IL on Monday.  My sister went home after spending a week with us, as did my parents dog.  I got a lot of my Thanksgiving cooking done early in the week and then sent it home with my Mom on Tuesday.  Wednesday was spent as a pajama day for Evan and I did some cleaning around the house.  Thanksgiving flew by and we spent yesterday buying our first fresh Christmas tree.  We have always put up a fake tree, but the tree that we have is so large and full that it takes up a good deal of space in our living room.  I’ve looked at getting a tall slender tree, but the price point is just higher than I’d like right now, so a fresh tree and a stand was in our future.  We got the tree up and the lights on and then found out Colin was running a fever so I left to pick up chicken noodle soup and sprite for him.  This morning I’m calling the pediatrician as soon as they open and getting him in.  He just got over strep throat, but is displaying all of the symptoms of it again.  I hear that there is an really resistant strain going around right now.

I did get a chance to make one card and I didn’t do a lick of stamping on it.  I still have a good deal of a Christmas Jingle Simply Scrappin’ Kit left from last year.  I started with a Real Red card stock base and then layered Very Vanilla with some of the dsp from the kit.  The dsp was sponged with Old Olive ink and then I added faux stitching with the mat pack and a Chocolate Chip stampin’ write marker.  I added some more dsp with a Chocolate Chip base and then added my Real Red polka dot ribbon over it, reversing it to hide the Polka dots.  The rest of the elements are die cuts from the kit.  I did add a few neutral and bright buttons with hemp twine.  That was about the extent of any stamping I got done this week.

Here is the sketch that Jen provided for us this week. If you need further inspiration please check out the fabulous samples from the rest of the Sketch for You to Try sisters:
Jen del Muro and the Designer of the Month
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
Carole Burrage *taking time off*

I hope you have a great weekend!

2 responses »

  1. Awesome card, Jenn! Sooooooo striking! I mean, it just reaches out and grabs ya – FAB!!

    Reply
  2. This is fabulous! I love your interpretation of the sketch! Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

