RSS Feed

Seasons of Change – SFYTT

Today is going to feel like we are having a heat wave. It’s going to be around 36 degrees and we are headed to downtown Chicago to check out the window decorations and to go to Macys Santaland. I hope the boys enjoy it. We are going to meet up with my brother and sister-in-law and walk around downtown. Then we are headed off to my parents to celebrate late fall and early winter birthdays.

Since it’s Saturday I have a Sketch for You to Try from Jen. Last week we picked a favorite sketch to work with and we are digging back in the archives again this week and doing the same. I chose to work with this sketch from April 2009. This is the last sketch for 2010 and there are changes in store for the new year. Check out Jen’s blog for the announcement about the Sketch for You to Try changes. My first thought was to mix and match Christmas papers and then add buttons to random squares. Instead when I sat down to stamp, my card took a whole other direction and I didn’t even use any scraps of dsp. I love Taken with Teal and still have a lot in my stash of retired colors. I thought it would add a nice pop of color against the Sahara Sand and I embossed it to give it even more texture.

To make this card I started with a Sahara Sand card stock base. I then layered Whisper White with a piece of Taken with Teal that was embossed with the Finial Press embossing folder. I then used my sewing machine to add stitching to resemble piles of snow.  The trees were then stamped on Old Olive and Pretty in Pink card stock with Chocolate C hip, Regal Rose and Always Artichoke.  They are from the Patterned Pines stamp set from last year.  I attached them with dimensionals and then added Daffodil Delight small stars.  Each star is attached with a dimensional and has a rhinestone in the center of each.  The sentiment is stamped in Soft Suede and is from Papertrey Ink’s Raspberry Suite Signature Christmas.

Besides the changes for the Sketch for You to Try for the new year, I also have a few changes going on.  I have decided to drop from the Sketch for You to Try design team.  I’m sure you have noticed that my blog posts are a week between.  I am having a hard time finding a balance between my family, volunteering in the boys schools and stamping.  I have decided to stop blogging and that is the main reason I’m stepping down from the team.  I want to get back to stamping for fun and not stamping just to blog.  I will re-evaluate where I am in the future and I may or may not return to the blogging world.  I’m sure I’ll continue to upload to my SCS gallery so that I can continue to participate in challenges and share my creations.  I know that this is the right decision because I am at complete peace with it.  It’s not something I came to lightly and it’s something I’ve been thinking about for some time now.

I want to thank all of you who have loyally followed me over the past 4 years.  I appreciate each and every comment and e-mail you have left for me.  I hope you all have a fabulous Christmas season and have a fabulous start to your new year.

Please make sure to check out the rest of the Sketch for You to Try Sisters and see what sketches they chose to work with:
Jen del Muro
Amber Hight
Amy Rohl
Amy Sheffer
Leigh O’Brien
Megan Lock
Susan Liles
Kelly Lunceford
Sonja Chirstoph
Jodi Collins
Carole Burrage

3 responses »

  1. Seriously could that dino card be any cuter Jenn?!?!?
    I love sketches too! You always inspire me.
    Take care.
    Misty

    Reply
  2. Thanks Jen for giving us eye candy for 4 years!!!! Enjoy your family and have a Merry Christmas!!!!
    Diane

    Reply
  3. Know…you are making the right choices…but am being SELFISH and POUTING! You will be missed! Your blog is on my “short list” (ie times when I can only check a few-you’re one of them!) and will miss your work as well as hearing about your family and pets. Take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

