Critter Thanks

We survived having 4 boys over for pizza, cake and Wii games on Friday night and Colin was thrilled with his new iPod Touch. I think he started something among his friends now because they all want one. On Saturday morning he picked Roger to go along on his Jesus Day Retreat so I stayed home with Evan and got started on his Thank You notes for his birthday. I had mentioned that I got myself a Cricut Expression for my birthday and I had a chance to play with it. I used Create a Critter for the little worm on these notes. He is cut from Certainly Celery and Tangerine Tango. The Cherry Cobbler is die cut from the same cartridge and then I used a Texturz Impression plate to add the large Polka Dots to it.  I’ve been having lots of fun adding texture and playing with it instead of just reaching for some dsp lately. The background is made from Certainly Celery that was embossed with the Lattice Embossing Folder. The Tangerine Tango strip was run through my crimper and then the Crumb Cake base was stamped with the retired Polka Dot background stamp from Stampin’ Up!. The sentiment is from Trendy Trees. The color combo for this card came from the ColourQ challenge 80.

On Friday I went down to the Regional Superintendents Office and started the process of getting my Sub Authorization. So this morning I had to go get finger printed. I haven’t had to do this in 10 years and it’s all computerized now. The next step is to get a work physical and a TB test. I have those set up at the beginning of May. I then have to take all of the paperwork back to the Superintendents Office and I should be set. I just have to go to the main office for the School District and fill out some paperwork and I’ll be all set to go back to work this fall. I haven’t worked in 8 years, so this will be a whole new experience balancing the kids, home and a work schedule. At least I have the summer to transition into it.

Stamps: Trendy Trees, Polka Dot Background
Paper: Cherry Cobbler, Crumb Cake, Tangerine Tango, Certainly Celery
Ink: Soft Suede, Crumb Cake
Accessories: Cricut, Create a Critter cartridge, lattice embossing folder, polka dot texturz plate, Big Shot, crimper, dazzling diamonds, googly eyes, dimensionals, 2 way glue pen

*Now for a bit of squeamish information about my day – if you want you can stop reading here as it involves a grizzly tale of hunter vs. prey*

Colin, Evan and I were headed out of the door so that Colin could meet the bus and I could drive Evan to school. His friend comes running and yelling for him to hurry down to the bus stop. Colin is down there for 5 seconds before he starts running back home to let me know that there is a dead bunny down there. The kids are all hovered over it so I went to tell Colin not to touch it since rabbit blood can be full of diseases. I thought it may have gotten hit by a car and was in the street or on the lawn, but it was up in a landscaping bed, and it was obviously eaten. My bet is that the neighborhood coyote caught it and got scared off while eating it. Colin turns to me and says, I called you because I thought you could do something about it. So after dropping Evan off at school I got out a garbage bag and shovel and disposed of the carcass. Luckily, it is garbage day and our garbage had not yet been picked up. Hopefully Colin will be happy that I did something about it.

One response »

  1. Oh my goodness, this is total cuteness.

    The bunny story is gruesome, but such is the law of nature. Wonder what he meant when he “thought you could do something about it?” Maybe he thought you could save it. Poor bunny!

    Reply

Leave a comment